Page 1 of 3

What go pro to get?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:37 am
by 2rods
Looking at getting a go pro but don't know what one.. Any ideas? Pros and cons..

Re: What go pro to get?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:55 am
by sheps
I am looking for a go pro as well so hopefully someone knowes a bit about them. I want one to stick on my car and also stick to my firefighting helmet.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:09 am
by nomad
Camera House at Palmy has them. The staff seem to know a lot about them.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:46 am
by garrynt
Gopro Hero 2 (latest one) outdoor version.
Make sure you get all the extras as well (Grab bag of mounts, handlebar mount etc)
I recently also got another enclosure for underwater filming (attached to the blur fix lens).

Best option for firies helmet would be a permanent stick on attachment (standard with original camera purchase). I'm not sure how camera (enclosure) will go with extreme heat but the lens are replaceable ( I remember the diff my old helmet/visor made when I used to get in amongst it in the 90's) From purchase to filming in heat of action -10 mins. You'll probably p..s everyone off over time by asking them and pointing at your head saying "is it flashing red?" (meaning its operating)

For the car, use a suction mount attachment & make sure you have set it correct (there will be little-no movement)

Pros- I just leave mine on all the time when out fishing. Just keep up a ready supply of batteries (2-2.5 hrs recording) and plenty of SD 10speed cards 16GB-32GigaByte size.

Cons- You will want more attachments to do something different.
The lens is easily scratchable ( I store my camera in stubby coolers)
My BIGGEST TIP is get a bag for the gopro gear with different storage compartments for clips/suction cups etc

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:25 am
by DOUG
I got the go pro hd hero 2 outdoors edition
I also bought 4 batteries an LCD screen to view what you have recorded while out there but it doesn't let you delete it which was main reason I wonted it
2 spare class 10 memory cards extra attatchments
Cig plug charger and few other little bits and pieces
Yep lenses scratch pretty easy I dropped mine first trip and put a small chip in top left of screen now it's in all my vids
I always have mine on standby and just have 3 fast when barra fishing then stop start it as it makes it alot easier when editing looking at heaps of 2 min videoes rather than one long one to find the part your looking for
I bought one of the big king chrome water proof cases from bunnings for about $70 from memory and have all my gear in that
I ordered mine from
Hdcameras.com.au
An Aussie site which worked out pretty much the same as ordering from the states
Everything I ordered come from the states anyways they must just get there supplier to send it out direct which would save on costs I suppose

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:32 am
by Blinky
As above. GOPRO 2.

I got the Motorsport kit with the handlebar mount, head mount, spare battery, LCD screen and a pile of additional stick on mounts as extras.
Next thing I do is get the wifi remote kit and upgrade the camera to the version 2.
I keep all my stuff in a pelican case.
I would'nt use the 32 gig cards as they are a bit unstable, they can loose data. Even though GOPRO say the are compatible. I have a few class 10 16 gig cards, with those you'll flatten your batteries before you fill the card.

Welcome to check mine out mate if you like.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:34 am
by Blinky
Hint.......put a safety lanyard on the camera case. I made one out of 80 kg braid. I've not had any of the stick on mounts let go but have had the suction cup part company.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:55 am
by DOUG
I have the 32gig cards and haven't had Astana with them yet what goes wrong with them ???
I just got the biggest card I could so I can leave them on my card and not clog my old slow computer up so much I seen 64gb class 10 on that. Site a while back !!
Don't buy your class 10 cards locally as I was gonna buy a spare card at camera house palmo and they wanted $179 and they are $69 on the site I posted
Good fun to sit back and watch stuff ya miss

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:12 am
by nomad
The more stuff you have on a single card means the more you have to lose when things turn to poop.
I had a full day’s MotoGP racing on one card once and when it died, I lost the lot when I tried to download it to a laptop.
Now I change cards regularly.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:26 am
by Blinky
I get my class 10 16 gig cards from ZAZZ, that's when they are on..........
Last one was $9.95. Never had a scrap of trouble from them.

The one 32 gig (class 10) that I do have has a habit of dropping data, thus it's been relegated to the shitepile, heard of others having the same problem with 32's in GoPro's.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:37 am
by DOUG
Ah true might have to go 16gb are they good quality cards ?? Mine are scandisk and Kingston x100 class 10 cards

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:54 pm
by Blinky
I'll have a gander this arv if I remember. At 10 bucks a hit I can't imagine they would be on the same level as Kingston.....but hey, until one shites itself at that price they are the ducks nuts!

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 2:19 pm
by DOUG
Nah I meant the ones you have had trouble with where they good quality ones ??
Yeah can't complain about that price ;)

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 7:25 pm
by DOUG
my latest vid i made this arvo toms 110cm 8)
http://youtu.be/KcCi_XJfKq0

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:45 am
by Blinky
Toshiba Doug, so it's not a cr.p brand by any means.