Yamaha F60 Starter motor issues

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:55 am
by mac10
Hi, Hoping someone on here can help me out.

Yamaha F60AED 2003 carby model.

Symptoms - Had trouble kicking over a couple of times then the next day failed to start. Suspected flat battery.
- Occasionally the gear on top of starter spins, even more occasionally it will throw up into flywheel but won't crank it.
- Most of the time you can here the solenoid kick but thats it.

Tried - Fully charged battery
- Jumping straight from battery to starter motor
- Spraying wd into the top of gear on starter motor.

I'm thinking it could be the brushes in the starter motor, if so is this a job a bloke with average skills could replace or should i take it to someone.
Any advise would be appreciated.

Re: Yamaha F60 Starter motor issues

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:05 am
by ponyplay
not very good with merchanics, but had similar problems with my yamaha 40.
was as simple as sh..ty connection from battery to starter , not enough power getting threw

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:26 am
by mac10
Thanks Ponyplay

I thought it may have been that to start with as my brother had that issue. A tiny pin pr..k in his lead did it.

I bypassed all leads though by jumping from battery straight to starter motor and it still did it.

Cheers.

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:23 pm
by olfart
Check mounting face starter to engine block, might not be grounding properly.

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:14 pm
by Ben Jam
Try tapping the side of the starter motor when starting it. I'm no mechanic but I've done it on a few cars before and it worked.

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:46 pm
by olfart
If tapping he starter makes it work, then you need to rebrush, generally means the brushes are worn to the point where they stick in the holders..Tapping will free them but the smart thing is to replace. could already be 'poling out' and causing way too much current draw.

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:18 pm
by justin
Had a look at a mates with the same problem pulled it apart to find a segment on the armature had come off. So some times it started and sometimes not bought a new one from over seas for $300.

Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:50 am
by Bluboat
I had a similar issue, bought 2 new batteries, no good, starter relay replaced, BROOOOOOMMMMMMMM!

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:33 am
by Moonman
I've actually had both issues with mine...

First time it happened I blamed it on the Starter Motor. The Starter would spin and to me it was spinning fast but not throwing it up to the flywheel. I assumed that where stater was supposed to push up was siezed or something. It turned out that all that was wrong was the earth terminal on the side of the starter motor had rattled loose over time and wasn't getting enough current to spin it fast enough. When i look at it now there was a big difference in the speed it was spinning.

The second issue I had was at the mouth of the south last year when it just stopped spinning properly out of the blue. The first couple of times It would take a couple of turns of the key to get it to throw it up, but after about 3 times of doing this it stopped working altogether. It was good to find out how easy it was to start the 60 by hand! I ended up running the motor for most of the day, even whilst casting as it was a pain having to pull start it too often. Anyways once back at home, found the brushes in the starter to be well worn. Replaced them with a new set I got from quality marine and away she went! Much cheaper than replacing the whole starter motor.

I had never really thought of this happening, but there was almost no warning that anything was wrong. So I'd suggest to everyone to try pull starting their motors at home, just to know if something does go wrong with your starter on the water you may still be able to start your motor by hand. I was surprised at how easy it was to turn over the 60hp, but a larger model may be a different story!

Moonman

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:44 pm
by wally gator
Heres a good one, that you might come across some time, motor starts no worries off we go as soon as i try to trim the motor its stops dead, restart no worries , go to trim same thing motor just stops !!!wot the hell , cheked battery conetions seem ok, loosened them off moved em around side to side retightened the wing nuts off we go again, trimed motor and all was well !!!. Gave in & out a call when got back, yes that was the problem loose or dirty battery conections,apparently the tilt trim motor is the biggest power draw on batteys and coz of bad contact it takes power away from the computer and the motor will just stop, redone terminals back at home and happy days never happed again !! Who would have thought that, youd reckon if it started the motor conections would be good, bit of info if it happens to you !!

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:02 pm
by mac10
Thanks Guys, good to pull info from others experience.
Everything is grounding properly, I think it's actually in the starter. I'm pretty sure it is the brushes. It's pretty much the same issues as moonman's second issue.
Moonman, is replacing the brushes fairly straight forward? I've got the starter motor out, I was just a bit reluctant to open it in case I found a problem I can't handle.
I was the same with pull starting. I spent 4 days down the mouth of Shady then it happened on the last, had to keep pull starting but was also very impressed with how easy it was.
Thanks guys

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:37 pm
by Moonman
Yeah mate pretty straight forward... Can't remember the details now but open it up and take the old brushes out and replace with the new. Just not where everything came out of and put it back the same way. I don't remember there being anything difficult about it though...

Moonman

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:32 pm
by mac10
Cool, Thanks mate.

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:29 pm
by mac10
Moonman, did it look like this once you opened it up? Looks filthy to me.

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:45 pm
by Moonman
Hey mate,

Nah I don't remember it being full of cr.p like that..? Basically the contacts on mine (the four metal bits facing the middle) were worn right down. There was a huge difference between the old and the new one! I'd just give it a clean out and replace the brushes anyways and see how it goes...

Cheers!