fitting light bars to your boat

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:27 am
by jonr
I have found mounting spot lights ineffective in the past as your boat moves too much even on flat water for them to be lighting up the water. I wanted to give it another go with a light bar as they have a wider spread vertically. has anyone else tried this yet? would be keen to hear how it went?

Jon

Re: fitting light bars to your boat

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:06 pm
by tissy
Hey,
Have seen it done i have a pair of 4inch HID euro spread lights on the front of my boat with a big handheld HID 55w Spotlight which works for me. Not that good for the big rivers like Shady Camp/Daly but when up creeks they work real good. But having the handheld spotlight kills them all when motoring.
Another mate has a pair of 4inch HID spots and a 120w 8000lumens lightbar which works well.
The biggest thing that he found was to buy the light bar with the highest lumens as he had same size watts but only 4500lumens which didnt work well
Got my HID lights of Ebay for $96, Think the lightbar mate got was somewhere around the $170-200. Handheld $100

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:29 pm
by Sacky
I went with 2 LED lights that are very similiar to these in shape. Got spot, not flood so you get the distance. Plenty enough light to fly down the daly at 60km/h in the dark.

I was worried about light bar getting in the way of a deckie pulling the anchor in and smashing the lights.

Need to be selective on the brand you buy though as there are plenty of gimmicks. No idea what brand mine are as they were freebies from a mate.

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:49 pm
by mippa
i did a thread on lights. heaps on input from everyone.

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:58 pm
by trent
Fitted a 24 inch across the front of my boat on some angle, bolts on with wing nuts, easy to remove install when you want, $99 ebay job 8500 lumins,12inch of spots in the middle and 6inch spread beam each end, worked well at shady lighting up both banks easily although the spot tended to reflect off the water a bit, still run a hand held spotty when other boats coming in the other direction you can turn them off and run the spotlight against the bank. Plenty of bigger boats travelling at all hours mostly running some sort of LED/HID lighting but still dont get how some dickheads think a dolphin torch replaces nav lights!!!

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:49 pm
by jonr

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:59 pm
by STANDY
Check these ones out.

Have one on the back of the ute for early boat ramp launching and the second one down Spot S-RM blew me away at the power, I am going to get the flood and put the spot on the boat

http://snakeracing.com.au/store/lightin ... 6_561.html

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:41 pm
by jdog
Have a look at the rigid m series duallys i ran euro beam on my tabs the worked a treat really good light from a small housing. Ip68 aswell

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:02 am
by madseb
jonr wrote:I have found mounting spot lights ineffective in the past as your boat moves too much even on flat water for them to be lighting up the water. I wanted to give it another go with a light bar as they have a wider spread vertically. has anyone else tried this yet? would be keen to hear how it went?

Jon
Fitted one to the boat 3 weeks ago and tested it at Sampan running from the barrage to the mouth at 4 am, very impressed with it, able to see both banks and 20 to 30m ahead brought it online $99.

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:09 am
by jonr
I want to mount mine under the bow spit at the front - this model my be a bit wide? will have to do some measurements

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:05 am
by garrynt
Lights work brilliantly in narrow waterways. But out when the river widens & there is a mist, my 72 watt LED just don't seem to cut it when at bow height.The light just seems to disappear?
I have a smaller 15watt (150mm wide) mounted under bow, it gets alot of mud on it when up against the bank at certain times of the year (so watch your wider one).

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:56 am
by jonr
How much light is enough? Jay car have a rust proof, shock proof led spot - 3000L for 120 or 6000L for 220? Also the 3000 comes in spot or flood but the 6000L is a combo. I would hate to spend 120 and it not be enough? Also thinking if getting flood rather than spot as coverage left and right and up and down is more important than distance

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:12 pm
by DRAGONMASTER
Madseb,
Any more info on that light, brand etc, where online, photo, physical size.

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:45 pm
by jonr
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=SL3919
This is what I am looking at currently or the 6000L version

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:43 pm
by Gregsy
Mate I've fitted a set of light force 170 strikers with the 50w hid upgrade in them, cost about $500 all up and mounted on the side of my bowsprit.
Going down the sampan last weekend at night we could easily see both sides of the river at its widest and 200-250m infront clearly! Bulletproof lights they take a bashing when pulling upto river banks or trees.