some days are diamonds

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:26 am
by al57
IMG_1146.JPG
IMG_1142.JPG
with our local weather saying the wind would be up early i noticed my stormcast site was showing it would be ok till around 1.00 pm so hooked up rig and headed out .with a tide of only 1.0 movement wasnt expecting anything much on the reef front but was better than sitting watching footy .arrived around 7.00am to a light breeze .this is where i get confused as most times im out to chase reefies its has a fair bit of run in the tide as it get them moving about ,today no run ,no wind ,dead still and the fish went off ,every drop was a hookup of missed fish for around an hour ,even on the slack tide they still bit hard .coral trout,trevs nannigi,two good flatty and snapper .with the tide so small i decided to go a lot lighter than i normaly do so 8kg main with 20lb leader ,second drop i get nailed by what i thought was a big golden ,30 minutes and some big runs and solid weight up popped a diamond trev which sat me back on my seat .it went 120cm i never realised they grow to this size and bigger ,my best before this was around 700mm .great day out and back home by 1.00 pm just as the wind was getting strong .also got one small striped reef dweller i havnt seen before ,one of you will know what it is . a great day out in perfect conditions

Re: some days are diamonds

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:42 am
by ronje
Haven't been reef fishing for years so have forgotten how to go about it.

Never seen a diamond trevally (only photos) but that's the biggest one I've ever seen a photo of. Usually Hervey Bay is known as the home of golden trevally.

That oily surface water looks almost a glass-out.

Would have been a great morning to be on the water.

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:10 am
by al57
yeh Ron it was a completley different day that was forecast ,i got a big golden last trip out there but definatly wasnt expecting a diamond this big

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:29 am
by NinjaFish
That's a ripper Diamond. :clap:

I've caught them stripey looking ones around the NT and Qld but have never been able to find out what they are.

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 4:39 pm
by al57
found out they are striped squirrel fish ninja,lots of different varieties around the tropical areas of aussie

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:31 pm
by NinjaFish
I thought that over time too but all the squirrel fish I've researched seem to have scruffy lines!
Those fish have straight as lines but a squirrel is will be from now on.

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 10:55 am
Monstar Diamond mate well done , :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 7:29 pm
by al57
do you men up there in the territory get diamond trevs

Posted: Thu May 02, 2019 7:08 pm
al57 wrote:do you men up there in the territory get diamond trevs
Catch a few , but I don't come across them often and not in that size range :shock: .

Mostly school size around 30cm

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 2:36 pm
by al57