Anyone from around the sunny coast??

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:56 pm
by mungoman_c
Gday guys, I'm moving to the sunny coast in June, I was wondering if there was anyone on here that would consider swapping their marks from around there for my ones up here, I have tons of ripper marks for all around the top end from years of fishing here. Pm if you would be interested in doing a deal, Cheers guys.

Re: Anyone from around the sunny coast??

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:03 pm
by john d
Just give them to me Tav

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:19 pm
by mungoman_c
Ya might get em if ya lucky :)

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:57 pm
by blw
What part if sunny coast you comin to mate. I recently moved to hervey bay. Its blown its guts out since I got here. Just waiting for a low to come to calm it down.

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:28 pm
by mungoman_c
Gday mate, Im probably going to move somewhere around bli bli I reckon, try and keep away from the rat race a bit. I have a good mate at Hervey bay, poor bastard bought a brand new boat last week and hasnt been able to take it for a run because of the wind haha

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:48 pm
by blw
mungoman_c wrote:Gday mate, Im probably going to move somewhere around bli bli I reckon, try and keep away from the rat race a bit. I have a good mate at Hervey bay, poor bastard bought a brand new boat last week and hasnt been able to take it for a run because of the wind haha
ah righto. How fars that away. Yer its been doin my head in haha.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 5:23 am
by mungoman_c
Its next to maroochydore mate, id say it would be about an hour and a half below hervey bay, rough guess.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:21 am
by itsinmeblood
My old stomping grounds mate, Bli Bli would be a good 2.5-3 hrs from hervey bay, a lot of the highway to the north is 80kmh with loads of speed cameras, can't help you with any marks...sounds like you're looking for offshore spots? I used to fish the southern end of the barwon banks a bit for snapper kingfish and pearlies not hard to find good ground with lots of depth changes from 30-70 metres of water. Plenty of charters operating out of Mooloolaba, not hard to keep an eye on where they head and the depths they're fishing overnighters were good for finding livies we'd often get schools of slimie macks around the boat, happy days when they turend up

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:07 am
by mungoman_c
Ah righto, didnt realise that. My boat is a 4.9 so it will be more inshore fishing due to the good old qld wind haha, thanks for the heads up mate.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:29 am
by itsinmeblood
Plenty of inshore reefs that can fish ok at times for smaller reefies good schools of tuna and tailor during winter as well that average a lot bigger than the tuna here. Winter time has the best stretches of light wind as well as the best fishing. The sand flats in pumicestone passage offer really good flathead fishing on the flats with plenty going up past 80cm. Plenty of variety in species down that way, once you get your head around the crowds, the closest decent dam barra fishing is up at Monduran Dam just past Gin Gin about 4 hrs from the coast. We used to fish Borumba Dam about an hour from maroochydore a fair bit there's heaps of big toga in there as well as bass yellowbelly and silver perch (you'll need a SIPS permit for the dams but it doesn't cost much for a year)

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:50 am
by mungoman_c
Thats the go, I originally come from out at Dalby, we use to fish Boondooma mainly but occasionally went up to Awonga. Never got to head tomonduran but it will be happening when I get back. Im going to miss the quality of fishing up here but I am looking forward to targeting all the different species and im not going to miss the gigantic tides haha

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:55 am
by blw
mungoman_c wrote:Thats the go, I originally come from out at Dalby, we use to fish Boondooma mainly but occasionally went up to Awonga. Never got to head tomonduran but it will be happening when I get back. Im going to miss the quality of fishing up here but I am looking forward to targeting all the different species and im not going to miss the gigantic tides haha
hit me up when you head to monduran ill tag along in my boat. I did one trip there for one strike all day.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:58 am
by blw
Oh yer. Well worth joining ausfish. 10 bucks a year. It has 400k members or something. I found plenty of good info so far

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:06 am
by mungoman_c
Will do mate, cheers

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:29 pm
by Lazybones
Mouth of mool river on the south side for heaps of gar then head old women rock on dust for plenty of snapper. Behind kawana there is a great stretch of water for crabs and jacks. There is a weir behind factories that is good for small Jew on kawana way.