FFF in Tasmania 1

Caught this one off the bank this arvo, 77cm - and no, it's not at a fish farm :lol:

Although the fish probably came from one of the several sea pens miles downstream.

I was quite chuffed, then I think of Kenty's post on this thread http://fishingterritory.com/vic-f10047/ ... 1028.html? which just kills the joy ... I might have to delete it :twisted:

And yes, the fillets are orange ...

My daughter, 5, took the piccy and was equally chuffed.

Re: FFF in Tasmania

Well done Matt!

Was it on a green Polty?
:wink:

I think youve been in the ac to long matt.
Fishing in tassy with a shirt on. :wink:
On second thoughts at least ya been fishing. :rofl:
GoodLookinPete

Post by GoodLookinPete »

What a great fish.

I assume by the t-shirt the annual day of good weather has passed then.

GoodLookinPete wrote:What a great fish.

I assume by the t-shirt the annual day of good weather has passed then.
:lol: :lol:
Yeah summer was on a Wed last year
They measure them by weight down there. C'mon Matt fess up, you poached from a sea pen :twisted:

It's a genuine escapee salmon caught in the freshwater reaches. I'd happily admit if it was a fish farm, dunno if they even have a salmon-fishing farm here.

There is a breeding farm in the upstream section which apparently has occasional escapees.

There was a sea pen escape a month ago (I am told), if this is one of the fish then I figure all his mates have arrived upstream too so I'll have another go tomorrow, might have to give the smoker a hurry-on (along with the cider press). Dunno how long the escapees survive, but the wild ones grow to 20kg+ in other parts of the world. They have a good set of teeth - I almost lipped him, but crouched down for a gander first and was glad I did :shock:

As for the weather, 26C today, felt like Darwin in the dry season. Tomorrow probably -2C, just like Antarctica in the summer :-) It changes constantly.

FFFreezing

A few years ago when I was there, one of the big pens had a mass escape and thousands of them escaped. They continued to swim in a big circle for days over in the west. Most were easily caught in big nets by locals.

you're right about the teeth. I grabbed one in Meadowbank Lake and held it up like a barra for photos. yeoooww :bonk:

Don't they still measure them by the pound (lb) down there Matt?

Dunno, haven't really talked to anyone about fish sizes ... all they tell me is "there's loads of flathead here".

It seems flathead are the main sea fish for the trailer boaties in southern Tassie, unless you have a big boat and chase SBT and trumpeter.

Yep trout etc (actually most soultern fish) are all measured by wieght. Except for one comp that had to change to length measurement because fishor were filling them up with sinkers to get extra size.
The Lower Derwent has heaps of good sized flatties. I wouldnt eat anything from the areas around the industrial plants.
it wont be long and we wont be able to et fish from Darwin Harbour

Nice fish
BarraBase

Post by BarraBase »

thats bigger than your biggest barra matt
Views expressed on this website are those of individuals and do not reflect the opinions of the website owner, or its operators, or other website users

bb :rofl: what you talkin bout willis.
olfella

Post by olfella »

Seeing this photo has reminded me of my trip to Alaska years ago Salmon fishing.............Thanks Matt, that story will come your way some time in the future...................it suffices to say I never bothered with taking a charter for 30 years after that................and I think my fishing mates have got a new story to hear over the coming weeks !!!

Otherwise...........nice fish and stop BSing us about the weather, put your fleecy lined back on before you catch a chill