A first for me

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:14 pm
by max
Finally got myself set up with a nice 10ft whippy rod & the rest of the gear needed to tackle the little Ludrick & headed out to Yamba wall,all I can say is I wish Id had a crack at em earlier as its great fun & they can pull,theres heaps of them about at present.I thought they may be a big strong in the eating dept. but they are real good tucker. :chef2:.You are allowed 20 fish (which is way too many) & they have to be 27cm long

Re: A first for me

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:23 pm
by AM
Well done Max,cant say I have ever done it,caught quite a few on yabbies in floods
in years gone by but never as a
....purist, if that is your first
go good job.

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:29 pm
by ponyplay
well done, i can always remember them guys fishing for them with there long rods , floats and green keeper bags full of fish when i was on holidays as a kid. looked like a bit of a art

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:31 pm
by nomad
Had a go years ago with my old man. they fight pretty hard as well.

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:48 pm
Well done Max, and yep they kick arse. Now is the time, just after spawning up river, when they sit around the lower reaches of rivers before they up and head out and along the coast. Reversely, summer time is when you find them schooling around headlands in preparation for their departure and travel up river for spawning :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:42 pm
gday max
I grew up on the sth coast NSW and was mainly into rock fishing and never had a good go at the Ludrick,but some mates where purists of the sport,so if thats you,ve first go youve done better than most of them,,, :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:28 pm
bl..dy good effort for a first go :mrgreen:

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:09 am
by SteveB
Nice fat looking fish. Well done mate.

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:06 pm
by Timmo
awesome fish...................

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:20 pm
by Mud
Well done Max.....nice to see some southern fish!!

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:43 pm
by Sy
Great Work Max!

Hope they have drummer there as well and you'll be in LB heaven ;-)

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:31 pm
by mako
Great post, fish from cooler waters often taste even better than their tropical cousins and some say bream taste better in the dry season.

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:56 pm
by smarty
Great report max some nice fish there too boot,specially on your first attempt...

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:12 pm
by Lilman
Is this in darwin?

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:15 pm
by Lilman
Is this in darwin?