DFR 2010 Territory Freshwater Fly Fishing Open

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:28 pm
by DFR WWW
DFR 2010 Territory Freshwater Fly Fishing Open will be held between the 8th & 9th May @ Corroboree Billabong.

For more details and nomination form, Please visit DFR Website www.darwinflyrodders.org.au

Competition is catch and release.

Fish are scored on a point per cm basis, Except for the Glamour species such as Barramundi and Saratoga which are awarded Double points per cm.

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:02 am
by nomad
Id love to get into fly fishing up here. I've done a lot in Tassie where I've just moved from but don’t reckon the little 4wt Sage would handle it here.
What sort of gear do I need to do battle with them?
I've heard you can target tarpon with light gear but id hate to have my 3wt smashed by a biggin
Do you tie your own flys and what size hooks? I don’t think the tiny No24 hooks will be any good on bazzas

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:52 am
by Jungle
G'day Nomad,

Why don't you come along to our next DFR meeting, there's :chef2: and :drinking1: and lots of :bs: .

It'll be held on Feb 24th at the Golf Club at Marrara from 6:30pm. There will be a guest speaker from Fisheries talking about last year's Barracade survey at Corroboree.

Most people use an 8wt out on the billabongs and the majority of people in our club tie their own flies, hooks sizes from 2 to 2/0.

Would be interesting to see the 4wt in action out there. I've fished a 6wt out there and got stitched up a few times but toga's. :bonk:

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:55 am
by nomad
Thanks for the invite,
I'll try to get there . anything for a beer & tucker

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:47 pm
by Mickfly
Did the comp last year for the first time. Mate came up from Vic. Recon it was a highlight of last year. Im in for 2010 :mrgreen: