Weber Q and cooking fish

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:49 pm
by NinjaFish
Hey All.

Has anyone worked out a way to cook fish on a Weber Q with out the baked factor?

I'm just not big on baked fish and don't want to waste $290 fillets :roll: on a $800 BBQ that needs a lid shut to work so hoping for some experienced cooks/chefs that have had a crack at it with someone else's fish.

:fishy:

Re: Weber Q and cooking fish

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:35 am
by b-radical
I stopped trying in my Weber q seemed to always stew it even with open alfoil, I stick to shallow fry or steaming now. Best way I reckon is on the hot coals beats a Weber q

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:09 pm
by NinjaFish
Thanks b-rad. I thought that would be the case.
Might just start experimenting and chuck a tray of oil in and see how hot I can get it first.

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:21 pm
by mako
Get guaranteed results, use a chef alarm with temperature probe so you can monitor your fish even with the lid shut.

https://www.theperfectsteak.com.au/prod ... lour=Black

Weber Q is a dry cooking method, fish fillets will become dry and overcook easily, use a marinade to add moisture and flavour, covering with alfoil is a good way to go.

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:30 pm
by b-radical
Hey ninja fish also a good way to cook just fillets (not whole fish) is a fillet skin and scales still on scales down flesh up on a hotplate or tray and season with what ever e.g. crack pepper salt and slice of lemon what eva floats your boat and no need to turn over in the weber q, get you timing right whip it off and you can just scrap the whole fillet off leaving the skin and scales to the side

mmmmmmmmm yum yum

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:39 am
by NinjaFish
Cheers fellas.

I investigated the perfect steak link Mako and decided to invest. Thanks.

I'm really hungry now reading b-radical post. I don't mind eating the skin if it's done right and I reckon I'll try that way first. Thinking about it, after I will try a shallow oil tray brought to heat and fillets with skin on flesh down so hopefully the skin will keep the moisture in and if it toasts up a bit that will be fine. Guessing pan size fillets will cook in about 60 odd seconds.

I will master the Q with fish.

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:39 pm
by NinjaFish
Has anyone ever tried this? Sounds sort of noxious but interesting.

Fresh Fish on Weber Q
Post by magste » Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:06 pm

I cook almost all fish on oak planks these days, whether on the Q or over coal. I just love the slight smoke flavour it brings. Put planks in water for 30 min, dry off & spray w canola oil. Lightly season fish fillets with lemon pepper & olive oil & grill on planks, skin side down if they have skin, at 200c for about 10-15 mins until done ( about 57c internal).

If you wash the planks immediately after use they can be reused many times. I got some untreated 1inch thick tassie oak planks from Bunnings that have gone through 5-6 cycles by now.

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:53 pm
by NinjaFish
Rule # 1. Quoted from somewhere on WWW.

Now that your grill is preheated, you’re almost ready to start grilling your fish. The last thing to do is clean the cooking grates with a stainless steel brush to remove all prior cooking debris that may still be left over.

Just a good rule of thumb, clean cooking grates are a necessity no matter what you are grilling to aid in easy removal of your grilled cuisine.

If you’ve experienced fish sticking to the grates in the past, chances are you didn’t preheat your grill to the correct grilling temperature, or clean your cooking grates properly.

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:56 pm
by NinjaFish
Should be an Aussie doing this but nonetheless.

https://www.bbqguys.com/bbq-learning-ce ... he-weber-q

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:14 pm
by mako
NinjaFish wrote:Has anyone ever tried this? Sounds sort of noxious but interesting.

Fresh Fish on Weber Q
Post by magste » Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:06 pm

I cook almost all fish on oak planks these days, whether on the Q or over coal. I just love the slight smoke flavour it brings. Put planks in water for 30 min, dry off & spray w canola oil. Lightly season fish fillets with lemon pepper & olive oil & grill on planks, skin side down if they have skin, at 200c for about 10-15 mins until done ( about 57c internal).

If you wash the planks immediately after use they can be reused many times. I got some untreated 1inch thick tassie oak planks from Bunnings that have gone through 5-6 cycles by now.
Smoke-Roasting—Convective Heat
Imparts flavor of the type of wood used
Cooks at lower temperatures for longer time
Must be covered to retain moisture

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:29 pm
by mako
NinjaFish wrote:Rule # 1. Quoted from somewhere on WWW.

Now that your grill is preheated, you’re almost ready to start grilling your fish. The last thing to do is clean the cooking grates with a stainless steel brush to remove all prior cooking debris that may still be left over.

Just a good rule of thumb, clean cooking grates are a necessity no matter what you are grilling to aid in easy removal of your grilled cuisine.

If you’ve experienced fish sticking to the grates in the past, chances are you didn’t preheat your grill to the correct grilling temperature, or clean your cooking grates properly.
How to grill...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecZMfXGqI6Y

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:11 pm
by Melv
Hey Ninjafish, not sure what the issue is, I cook (skinless) fillets on my family Q all the time and they come up a treat. I cook em on the hot plate, just pre heat for the regulation 10 minutes to get it nice and hot, spray the fillets with a bit of oil, sprinkle with some lemon pepper and salt (or whatever takes your fancy) and chuck em on.
For a standard issue harbour Barra of about 55-65cm I cut the fillets into 4 or 5 pieces and cook for about 11/2 - 2 minutes each side (lid down) max. As soon as you can put a toothpick through them with no resistance get them off. Obviously Jewies and bigger Goldies etc will take a bit more time but the toothpick test remains the same. Little bit crispy on the outside and lovely and moist inside. Delish :chef2: 8)

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:28 pm
by NinjaFish
G'Day Melv.

No issues mate and got it right first go with a couple of good size Cod fillets (skin on-topside and didn't turn them) and they just melted the taste buds :chef1:

I threw it out there first up for opinions as it blew me away that 2kg of thick scotch fillets cooked in 4 minutes and I figured that cooking fish was going to be a whole new game on the newly acquired Q' and I knew someone out there had some answers

Some answers came and solutions too, and I haven't over or under cooked any fillets and it's a whole new world now and guess I needed the confidence from the experienced - or I could have read the book!

I thought about taking pics of the cooked and posting up but I can't go back on my long held opinion of those that do those things........ yet :drinking7:

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:49 pm
by Melv
Yeah mate, no pics of dinner or you’re off my Xmas card list.... :fu:

They’re definitely a different cooking experience. I used to participate in an annual 2 day sale at a hardware store in Alice Springs and the Weber rep would be there all weekend cooking up all sorts of treats. Only took me 2 shows before I jumped in bought the top shelf unit and a heap of accessories. Love it :chef2: cooks the best steaks, fish, roasts, pizzas and whatever else you choose to chuck on it. Doubles up as a great heater too now I’ve relocated to Tassie ............. :cry:

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:40 pm
by NinjaFish
I spent years in Alice and you must of been at Walkers or B&S Hardware.
Anyway, as promised, no dinner pics but a good cooking lesson attached :)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oolJWcOhHCw