Smoked Croc..

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:57 pm
by Hemi
Been wanting to smoke crocodile for a while now & seen those tail steaks woolies been selling.
Grabbed a couple yesterday and brined them over night and smoked this morning.

For those interested...
Salted over night in table salt, onion salt & garlic salt.

Washed off all salt this morning then sat steaks in ice for an hour.

Spread steaks with seeded mustard, mild american mustard, sprinkled on thyme & rosemary.

Smoked with apple chips until done.

Come out fantastic! Cant believe how tender they are!! Usually a very dry meat but not this way.
bl..dy brilliant lunch.

Re: Smoked Croc..

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:55 pm
by cuddlescooper
Oh well, now your gonna have to cut off the tail of the next one you blow away! :twisted:

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 3:31 pm
by Hemi
True that Pete!
Crocs belong in my smoker not the rivers & creeks....!

Here we go again.... :hunting:

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 6:14 pm
by scottmac
Nice, might give that a whirl. I'm always keen to smoke just about anything! :naughty: :smoking:

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:21 pm
Yum, someone should do that at the markets

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:29 am
by Jeno
Hi Hemi,

Sounds delicious mate,

What is the logic behind putting them on ice for an hour before you smoke them?

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:09 am
by Hemi
Jeno wrote:Hi Hemi,

Sounds delicious mate,

Just my crazy logic??

There is a scientific reason for it, something to do with the way it breaks down compounds in the meat blah blah blah... I dont really bother getting into it!

Meats like croc, turkey, fish.. I always ice down first.. I definately find it will produce a better texture.
It definately helps the meat to smoke nicely if it goes into the smoker nice and cold.

We used to smoke venison sausages in Tassie, we'd put crushed ice into the sausage mix before filling the skins.
It no doubt helps with moisture and tenderness during smoking, but depends on what result your after and what saltdowns/brines your using.

All my smoking is experiment based! I dont really follow any certain methods, just like to stuff about.. Getting some pretty good results thou..!

Got another 3kgs of croc in there now.

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:12 pm
by cuddlescooper
Hemi wrote:
All my smoking is experiment based! I dont really follow any certain methods, just like to stuff about..

Hmmm, a dubious Tasmanian comment perhaps???? :smoking:

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:35 pm
by Hemi
cuddlescooper wrote:
Hemi wrote:
All my smoking is experiment based! I dont really follow any certain methods, just like to stuff about..

Hmmm, a dubious Tasmanian comment perhaps???? :smoking:

Trust a bloke with a strong smoking heritage to pick up on that one.... :wink:

Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:03 am
by Jeno
Hemi wrote:
Jeno wrote:Hi Hemi,

Sounds delicious mate,

Just my crazy logic??

There is a scientific reason for it, something to do with the way it breaks down compounds in the meat blah blah blah... I dont really bother getting into it!

Meats like croc, turkey, fish.. I always ice down first.. I definately find it will produce a better texture.
It definately helps the meat to smoke nicely if it goes into the smoker nice and cold.

We used to smoke venison sausages in Tassie, we'd put crushed ice into the sausage mix before filling the skins.
It no doubt helps with moisture and tenderness during smoking, but depends on what result your after and what saltdowns/brines your using.

All my smoking is experiment based! I dont really follow any certain methods, just like to stuff about.. Getting some pretty good results thou..!

Got another 3kgs of croc in there now.
Well ok then :chef2:

Thanks for that mate, I will give it a go.......gotta get back into the smoking......usually only a dry season thing for me with tuna and mackeral.....but I might give your croc suggestion a go!

Cheers mate

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:20 pm
by STANDY
Ex Butcher

ice water with sausages is to keep the temperature down during the mincing and sausage making

chilling before smoking will slow the smoking at the start (helps to not get that smoky leather outside layer you sometimes get)

Hint: put a bit of sodium nitrate in the curing water ( help kill bacteria) http://www.melbournefooddepot.com/buy/s ... ure/F05716

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:21 pm
by Hemi
Theres no doubt about ya Standy... Ya Always have the good oil on these things...!

Ill be sure to get your advice when I fake my own death... ;)

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:52 pm
by STANDY
Croc will be half the price at Crocodylus Park. Just go to the gift shop at the front and tell them you just want to get some croc meat.......

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:56 am
by callmejoe
Now I'm hungry.
My smoker unfortunately is still in a container in melb. Just another thing I forgot to throw in the van before we moved.

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 9:41 am
You are what you eat ...

Bunch of handbags :lol: