Cobourg NP reopens for fishing

Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 5:50 pm
Garig Gunak Barlu National Park Reopens - NT Govt press release
One of the Territory’s most spectacular tourist attractions has reopened to the public.
Known throughout the world for its pristine white sandy beaches, colourful cliff-lines and sparkling blue waters teeming with unique marine life, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, was the first park in the world to be declared under the Ramsar Convention* because of its significant wetlands.
Located northeast of Darwin on the Cobourg Peninsula, the Park covers about 4500sqkm of visually stunning land and sea and protects rare species, including the dugong and marine turtles such as the Flatback, Olive Ridley, Hawksbill, Loggerhead and Leatherback.
Parks and Wildlife Commission NT Director Northern Australian Parks Neva McCartney said the park was one of the first in the Territory to be jointly managed by traditional owners and is generally open to the public during the Dry Season.
“Garig Gunak Barlu National Park has a rich and vibrant history, dating back 40,000 years to the time when Indigenous Australians are first known to have lived there,” Ms McCartney said.
“Macassan traders visited the area for centuries and in 1838, the early British settlement of Victoria was established at Port Essington, and lasted 10 years.
“The story of this rich and vibrant history is told through the Black Point Cultural Centre, located in close proximity to two campgrounds, which include showers, composting toilets, barbecues, tables and some bore water.
“The most popular time for visitors is in the June, July school holidays.”
Anyone wishing to visit the park should contact the permits office on 08 8999 4814. It is recommended that visitors book early, especially during the school holidays as there are only 20 camping spots available.
“Boating and fishing are also popular activities within the Park and the main species include mackerel, queenfish, snapper, trevally, shark and various reef fish, although we do ask visitors to fish responsibly and take only what you need. Day permits for visitors wishing to visit the park via boat for the day are available,” Ms McCartney said.
“And for visitors who want to head below the water, diving in Coral Bay is permitted for guests and staff of the Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge.”
People planning to visit Garig Gunak Barlu National Park are advised to go to www.parksandwildlife.nt.gov.au for more information about fees and permits associated with their stay at the Park.
ENDS

Re: Cobourg NP reopens for fishing

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 2:46 pm
by Meter Maid
Love this place want my ashes spread of table head.Been up there 6-7 times .A couple of photos from last trip.

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 3:44 pm
by Wylde_Fish88
28lb of sweet, sweet bluefin right there! 8)

Jigging in about 25ft of water was good fun!

Cant wait to get back up there in Oct! :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 5:27 pm
Nice fish! Yes, it is a good place, big fish in shallow water and good camping - Table Head and Record Point are interesting spots, and there's probably dozens more :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 9:11 pm
by AndyRalphKakadu
Yep, got my permits for two cars/boats for a week in mid June.......hope there's still some Macks left by then, should be a ripper year for Spaniards!

Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 4:33 pm
by Wylde_Fish88
Would imagine there will be plenty of macks around mate. We always go in October to try get in after the winds, and always find some good macks, as you can see from the pic above.

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 8:13 pm
by Tightlines2
Gday,
How long does the drive take usually from Darwin? Looks like a mint spot!

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:52 am
by mickkk
It’s awesome. Travel times can vary on how bad the road is and how many times your trailer brakes.
Don’t want to scare you off, but everything that can shake off will. It snaps slipper springs or single leaf springs regularly.
Last time I went we stayed at merl camp ground (with all the mozzies) as we had to cross Cahills by 8 at the latest with the tides. And we got to the park camp grounds about 230.
It’s a big day to do in one trip, and you end up going a bit quicker than you should and that’s when things go wrong.
Drive home is fine to do in a day, as you are not setting up a campsite late, you are just falling into bed.

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:52 am
by Tightlines2
Cahills crossing is about 6h behind the Darwin tides?
I’ll be sure to take it easy if the road condition is poor. Won’t be taking the boat so the cruiser should hold up on its own. I’ve read the land based fishing is quality there. Can you confirm? Is there a jetty there also?

Cheers TL2

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 11:06 am
by mickkk
Jetty is long gone.
Cruiser will be fine.
If you are into history, the Victorian settlement is well worth it. You may be able to book a charter to do both the settlement and fishing. But there is land based about. Jump on willy weather for Cahill tides.

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:41 pm
by Tightlines2
Thanks mate.
Can’t wait to get out there for a look!
Pricey vehicle permit haha

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 8:50 pm
by Yorkie
Was hoping to take my topender but the comment about breaking slipper springs makes me nervous! Only a 490 on the newer Ali I beam trailer.

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 7:09 am
by mickkk
What sort of suspension is under it?
I know George at nt unique does a few modifications to reinforce those trailers. And just take a spare everything so you are prepared

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 11:50 am
by Yorkie
mickkk wrote:What sort of suspension is under it?
I know George at nt unique does a few modifications to reinforce those trailers. And just take a spare everything so you are prepared
5 leaf slipper springs, I have already been told just take some spare slipper springs rather than modifying for eye to eye, taking it easy seems the go.

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 3:33 pm
by mickkk
Take spares, check bolts on everything, take it easy and you will be fine.
If it’s rough stop a few times and check all bolts are tight, wheel arches, number plates brackets, etc etc all like to fall off