Tools and Spares

Talk about the gear you can't afford and knots you can't tie.
Bushy

Tools and Spares

Post by Bushy »

Gday everyone, just looking into what people take with them on boats for a few days trip.
I normally have a few scewdrivers, cableties, adjustable spanner and spares i have spark plugs and fuel primer bulb.

Re: Tools and Spares

In addition to your list I will have ring spanners, fuses, electrical tape, pliers and beer
Bushy

Post by Bushy »

Lats wrote:In addition to your list I will have ring spanners, fuses, electrical tape, pliers and beer
Yep sounds good Lats, what the hell would we do without tape and beer :cheers:

Beer fixes everything and rum makes the repairs easier.

Also take a few lengths of different size hoses- think fuel, and a few clamps to suit and a small bottle of steering fluid. It doesn't take up any room.
fish4me123

Post by fish4me123 »

trailer bearings don't hurt and a spare tyre that's not flat on the bottom, fishing mags in case you have to wait for rescue.
tight lines
al57

Post by al57 »

i have all those but always have a battery drill in the boat with a small box of drill bits,hex head and philips head tips and another small packet of various screws .it has got me and others out of trouble a few times now .the main one was my mate broke his steering box cable holder under the console ,i screwed a bit of driftwood up against the console and onto the bok with afew cable ties as well ,it got us all home from 60 k up fraser island .ps i have a heaps of various cable ties on board as well
mcminnsmob

Post by mcminnsmob »

Whenever I work on the boat at home I just use the tools on the boat, so if I need to get/use a tool from the shed tool box, it then stays in the boat.
Spanner set and sockets, all small size
Mini bolt cutters for those big hooks that get stuck in your leg
Fuel filter, fuel hose and joiners & 12V pump to transfer fuel from tank to tank if needed
Spare bungs, even if they don't fit my boat, someone will need one someday
Steering hose and fluid
Super glue
Silicone tape, https://www.bunnings.com.au/rust-oleum- ... e_p4750200
Epipen, need to get a new one!
Bushy

Post by Bushy »

NinjaFish wrote:Beer fixes everything and rum makes the repairs easier.

Also take a few lengths of different size hoses- think fuel, and a few clamps to suit and a small bottle of steering fluid. It doesn't take up any room.

And rum would be good for when you get a hook in you.
One more i forgot i have is jumper leads, came across a cupple fellas stranded with a flat battery once.

Para cord, spare prop, split pin, mozzie net
BigT

Post by BigT »

Someone who knows what they’re doing!

BigT wrote:Someone who knows what they’re doing!
Ha, yep!!