Thermacell mat bulk replacements.

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:36 pm
by scottmac
Has anyone found a place to buy the mats by themselves. I know how to refill the bottles, but couldn’t find the mats last time I looked.

PS: Just found these on eBay. Cheap AF! Anyone tried them?

Re: Thermacell mat bulk replacements.

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:47 pm
I tried them last year but I didn't think they were as good and a few few off them didn't burn properly .
But I also thought they felt damp so might have been a dud box .

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:56 pm
by scottmac
Ok, cheers mate, worth a shot at that price, but should have originals as backup I reckon.

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:16 am
by stroma
I use them regularly. Perhaps not as good as the originals but still work OK. The pads themselves are slightly thicker and around half the size of the originals. I shove two in the unit when the mozzies are thick. I think I did some sums at one point and by using these pads and refilling the butane bottles I could get 12 hours of use (pads and gas) for less than $3 compared to the original cost of about $8.

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:55 am
by Ernie
The Mortein one's are a bit thicker and a bit tight to slide in / out, but and seem to work fine

https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/Prod ... ito-refill

Bunnings, Coles or Woollies used in the 240v versions

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:32 pm
by scottmac
stroma wrote:I use them regularly. Perhaps not as good as the originals but still work OK. The pads themselves are slightly thicker and around half the size of the originals. I shove two in the unit when the mozzies are thick. I think I did some sums at one point and by using these pads and refilling the butane bottles I could get 12 hours of use (pads and gas) for less than $3 compared to the original cost of about $8.
Cheers mate, I’ll give them a go.
Ernie wrote:The Mortein one's are a bit thicker and a bit tight to slide in / out, but and seem to work fine

https://www.woolworths.com.au/Shop/Prod ... ito-refill

Bunnings, Coles or Woollies used in the 240v versions
Ah yeah, forgot about those.

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:18 pm
by newfisherman
You can't get the Mortein ones at the moment at shops... no one is selling them anymore, well the shops I went to looking for them didn't have them, that was about 4 bigger supermarkets in palmo/rural area

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:47 pm
by trent
Just soak the old used pads in bushmans or aerogaurd in a jar, work just as good

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:34 pm
by fff1964
you can get the longer ones from the US TOO.

off flea bay

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:06 am
by Jer
Some links that might be useful if they've not been seen already. When it comes to re-coating the pads yourself, I guess you should be careful with what you use and how you use it, these are insecticides after all.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Improvi ... hermacell/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_nGrfybMU0

Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:18 am
by rumluck
I use the ars mat12 as well. Two in the thermacell at a time. A 3rd resting on top if the mozzies are thick. Ive had bad batches of pads but all in all effective and cheap.

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:49 pm
by craig.g
Can anyone advise where to purchase plèase

cheers Craig

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:14 am
by scottmac
Fleabay

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:02 am
Flickin4em wrote:Few top tips there fellas thx. For the ideas re :soaking the pad

I suppose citronella oil might work too.?
DO NOT USE CITRO OIL ,, Unless you want a fire on board :evil: