Need Help!!!Gas canisters for portable bbq

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:16 pm
by bring_it_on
Hi guys…after some help or direction to where can i buy the refill canisters
.Having hard time finding them cause of some joker has blown himself up it seems the whole country has had to suffer.Fair trading has listed the portable bbq models that are now banned but the i have the aussie made U BUTE and it isn't listed.Love my UBUTE so any help of stockist would be much appreciated.

Re: Need Help!!!Gas canisters for portable bbq

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:17 pm
by Fruity
Try bunnings BBQ section, I bought some 2 weeks ago,

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:30 pm
by bring_it_on
cheers fruity,was told by tackle world and bbq galore that no one stock them.Will hit bunnings up for myself

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:22 pm
Reminds me of the Darwin bloke who got caught stealing a gas bottle after hours coz he was in the middle of a big BBQ.

He fronted court and had no prior record, so was just given a warning.

Newspaper headline was: "Caught with gas: man let off lightly"

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:24 pm
by bring_it_on
hahah matt,no gas will make a man do drastic things in desperation

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:39 pm
by alfie
Bought a few from Kmart last week.

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:47 pm
B unningx have heaps

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:57 pm
by qiksix
Only the cookers themselves have been banned, the canisters are still available everywhere. PS if anyone has a spare cooker laying around they dont want i'll happily buy it off them.

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:39 am
by Once Bitten
Canisters are available at Bunnings! PM sent to qiksix re gas cooker/s / collectors items :-)

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:01 am
by Edo
What Alfie said.....................KMART mate

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:58 am
by nomad
The cookers will be back onthe shelves once they make some minor tweeks to the connections i heard

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:21 am
by dannett
I have seen a few cookers on the shelves, perhaps ones that already complied? Anyway I am pretty sure I saw one at We Sell Fun last week.

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:29 am
by nomad
They were the ones who told me about the changes

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:39 pm
by dannett
nomad wrote:They were the ones who told me about the changes
Actually now that I think about it, it was a few weeks back and either there or Mitchell's but definitely after the ban because I found it interesting that they were still selling them. Anyway, I reckon if you dig about you will find some around somewhere, legal or otherwise. If you do let me know because mine is all rusted out and going to blow me up.

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:23 pm
by BarraMick
SUPER CHEAP AUTO has them.

bunnings palmy - nothing
wollies - nothing
servos - nothing