Manton spillway - dead fish

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:43 pm
There have been reports of dead fish under the Manton Dam wall, anyone got pix?

Re: Manton spillway - dead fish

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:14 pm
by tangels
Went there 2 wks ago and spoke to a bloke in the car park and he seen a few good size barra come over wall and went belly up.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:25 am
by b-radical
I'm sure i read their was a new net put in place?

Any pics of the new net or how its supposed to stop the fish

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:28 am
by goldfish
Heres another couple that survived check the damage on the big one : broken jaw, blind in one eye, fins snapped and half of it scaled. :| surely we can do better than this system ....

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:09 am
by goldfish
Wonder how much tax coin i put towards this fail.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:55 am
by tristan.sloan
Fish will always go over the wall but its about keeping the majority in. During replacement of the net there would of been a period of time when fish could of swum directly to the dam wall and even when it is in they can sneak around the sides when the water level is high enough.

110,000 fingerlings were stocked there last year and thousands and thousands in the previous years, a few lost over the wall is a drop in the bucket. The net is a good investment especially considering that the majority of stocked dams in QLD and Southern States don't even bother with one.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:57 am
by tristan.sloan
...goldfish that isn't a photo of the net, that's just the roper barrier prior to the wall.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:39 am
by Edo
Tristan- when are we fishing the lakes mate?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:00 am
by goldfish
tristan.sloan wrote:...goldfish that isn't a photo of the net, that's just the roper barrier prior to the wall.
:bs: :lolpoint:

whatever u reckon this pic was on 31.1.18 so looks like thats what we're using this season.
It definitely looked like a net to me and it's in the same spot as the old one ..So wheres the new net then mate???

IMO a hell of a lot of the small stocked barra get eaten by their mates perhaps stocking it with a bigger size (say 40cm) baz would see our catch rates go up a bit.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:39 am
by b-radical
thanks for the net pic Goldfish, i guess its better than 100s of dead barra on the other side considering how many they put into the dam to begin with

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:50 am
Should have perhaps spent the money on a slippery dip, Adelaide River fishing would improve tenfold, that is one fickle dam.

I have caught battered fish (no chips) in years past at Beatrice Creek.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:18 pm
by dannett
Or a glory hole.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:19 pm
Or a glory hole.
To let the barra out, or put your lure in?? :P

OMG the p o w e r t a i l, I get it now ... :lol:

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:04 pm
by chris338
the new net has been a massive fail from what i have been told the net has been built to short and doesn't reach the bottom with the water height of the dam at the moment i have spend a few nights there and have seen one small barra landed of the wall itself past the new containment net. i have spent hours cruising around with the electric to have nothing even marking up on the sounder. this photo wasn't taken by me but it is from this year.

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:52 pm
by goldfish
More carnage from this arvo.. ... This one is around 95cm ..

Seems like such a waste of a good trophy baz. Imagine the potential thrills and excitement that all the anglers will miss out on. The the tales of the one that got away, the epic capture or just the sight of a fish this size swiping behind your lure would have created memories to last a lifetime for so many people..... and that's just for this ONE fish. The social media and resulting revenue from it must have some sort of value? ??

Hundreds if not thousands of them end ended up like this ( who actually knows ) all just because someone can't read a sounder then simply add a couple of meteres to the reading to deal with the current. Hang it up a bit higher if need be. Ensure that it's touching the bottom and anchored properly. Then we wouldn't have an issue.... It's 13m or more deep where it sits in the middle. or so I've been told. But surely its not rocket science. After all we had a net back in WW2 in the same area to stop Japanese torpedoes.

The dam level wasn't that far off being full when they made it as it only went down about a metre below the spillway during the end of the dry season. Plus they would have had the old one to go off too so WTF ??

So who did the measurements ? :sweat:
Was this a contractor ?
When are they fixing it?

I've been going to the dam wall since i was a kid and this is an ongoing issue ever since they put it in and it would be great to see it finally sorted out.

:fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :catch: :fishing:

:fishy: