Any guess?

Any guess?

So I have these two lures that I found at a second hand shop...
Yes they are Reidy's, but do you know which model they are?

I will be honest, till today I didn't know and I emailed the pics to Col from Reidy's to know.
So just in good fun, who remember these lures?

And yes the two are different...

Sorry for the bad quality of the pics, it is just some quick snaps.

Re: Any guess?

A bit of the subject, but Pechuar mate i use to do the rounds of the second hand shops looking for lures, id find the right ones every so often and put them on Ebay sell them for a very nice profit :naughty: :naughty: Lure collecting is a pretty big thing in Australia :mrgreen:

Heres a few i got from cashys

These two wher my best steal payed 8 bucks for the two, sold them for just under hundred bucks

Not quite as god but 4 bucks each and got about 20 to 50 each for them

So keep you eyes open for timber ones mate, you may be able to fill ya box up with newbys :mrgreen:

hey pech, nice post.. as a guess first one an early lucifer?

hey pony, i got a few old timber classics laying around, they worth anything for these collectors?

banndit il give ya a six pack for each one :mrgreen:

Na mate they would be worth a bit at a guess, a fair bit id say . Put one on ebay and find out, put 50 dollar reserve on it.
Have a look under vintage collectable lures , youl get a bit of a idea.
For the info just post one to me :mrgreen:

Is the Nautilus Mack Magnet out of production? Guess I'll have to ask Chris Hurt, those things in red and white are the bomb for skinnies and macks, many times I saw them nailed from among a spread of lures.

First one looks like a Reidys Taipan Pech :mrgreen:

Second one is probably an Aqua Rat, quite a famous lure in its time.

Pech. they look a bit like taipans & spotted the mack magnet straight up Im sure chris is still making them

Matt Flynn wrote:Is the Nautilus Mack Magnet out of production? Guess I'll have to ask Chris Hurt, those things in red and white are the bomb for skinnies and macks, many times I saw them nailed from among a spread of lures.

First one looks like a Reidys Taipan Pech :mrgreen:

Second one is probably an Aqua Rat, quite a famous lure in its time.
Any timber lure that is hand crafted will hold sum kind of value, alot more espically if there stop hand crafting them and gone into plastic production

nothing to do with your lures pech but back in 92 I was working as a printer in mackay and the place I worked did the backing cards for reidy's lures when he was working from home at marian or mirani? on the banks of the pioneer river west of mackay ted the bloke I worked for took me out there for a squizz at his set up and he gave me a bucket full of seconds from the machine he used to print the patterns on the lures smudged double prints etc...no hooks or rings on em and I wasn't much into lure fishing then so the kids ended up losing the lot in the sandpit out the back yard and on the lawn for the mower to chew up.....siiigghhhhhhh.... :banghead:

coroboreebandit wrote: i got a few old timber classics laying around, they worth anything for these collectors?
Hi CB,

No timber lures would not be worth anything in Darwin because of all the termites around here.
Send them to me I will get ride of them for you...
:angel: :wink: :lol: :rofl:

Thanks for the tip PonyPlay, I may look for the wooden ones too now.

itsinmeblood wrote: so the kids ended up losing the lot in the sandpit out the back yard and on the lawn for the mower to chew up.....siiigghhhhhhh.... :banghead:
:shock: As we used to say when I was a kid: You may bite on your own B***S now...
:lol:
So the Reidy's were made of timber?
Any one got a photo of one of them?

Ok, I won't reveal what the first two lures are, just to keep the suspense a bit longer and see who knows his/her lures.
And if you know the lures in PonyPlay photos, you are more than welcome to say what they are.
So I can learn too...
:roll:

Me.

Ok so for the first two lures...
Matt Flynn got it right for both of them...
And I would say that Max got 50% of the answer.

The first one is a Taipan, but they have since, changed the eyes, and the bib.
And the second one is the Aqua Rat.
Which I have never tried.
Does any of you have fished with it?
(No it doesn't mind that you are that old... :lol: )

I might have to have a good look on my lure wall as there are a few old timber lures on there....plus heaps of the old old reidys lures too...even have a old old leads lure :shock: (+ heaps of new ones) 8)

Must sit down and have a closer look at whats there.

Here are some old reidys lures for ya...plus a few others.

Here is one with a message.. :o

This little one is a ripper..before little lucifers were around..

Here is a DARWIN DART...good lure..not sure what happened to them??

Here is a little nilsie broken back... about 20 years old ..and the first barra I ever landed was on this lure at the Howard river..just down from the iron bridge.

More wooden lures

Leads lures on the right...jonesy lures in the middle...

more leads

more leads...(yes I like them)

some cod lures...

Remember when Nilsie was the be all and end all of barra lures? I still give them a run every so often.

Yep them mac lures work well...this old fella has seen a few..

What is this 1???

little fellas...

I also have 2 x RMG lures the same size...a friend had them as earings (no hooks)... :mrgreen:

Love the last one, my fav lure the lil (mini?) micro mullet.

they fall appart when 90+cm barra hit them tho :(
Angry

Post by Angry »

I think I'll get all my lures sign written with this,

"Hands of Dickhead !" :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Angry

"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"

Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

managed to get some of the other pictures uploaded....

Here is an old Leads lure...if any of the lures are worth anuthing I think this 1 would be the 1???

Some I picked up un Wagga Wagga in 2001..

A scurvey dog...Made by Balls off the FFF I am told :)

There is something about hand crafted lures...some of the new leads lures even have a very soft rattle...not bad for a timber lure..pity they are so hard to get..