The Warlock

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:10 pm
Anyone swum these yet? They are from the Classic stable, supposed to be the new trolling weapon.

Re: The Warlock

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:20 pm
by Turtle
I used them at shady camp. Caught a couple rats just casting em in gutters. Didnt get to troll em for big fish.. was too rough out out the front.

Ive still got 3 brand new ones in my tacklbox ready to get smashed by some big meter + slappers.

I also lost 2 big b52's tonight to some big fish..

Matt, do you know anything about when the big ass b52s are coming out? Im keen to grab a couple!!!!

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:42 pm
by muzza2284
i"ve got a couple of the smaller size ones. one in silver black and red, and one fluro one.

Had some interest in them over at pioneer creek, but they attracted alot of Powertail. or maybe that was just me. (i reckon its just me)

Have caught a few bazza's on them down the south, tried something else besides softies, the Warlock and the gold bomber were the only 2 in the box that worked for me.
heaps of saratoga about that day but they wouldnt touch the warlock, tally on the Warlock is about 4, biggest 62cm.

i hope they come through an the fish get the idea. there a mean looking lure

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:59 pm
by Blinky
I gave my Warlocks away...............Dr Evils are better!

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:06 pm
by Turtle
Blinky wrote:I gave my Warlocks away...............Dr Evils are better!
I got a couple of dr evils too.. they are pretty good ai! Basically the same... O_o

Are they the same brand? I cant remember....

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:11 pm
by Billster
Someone must be using them, I was in BCF weekend before last just looking around and they only had two colours left on the rack and about 10 or 12 vacant hooks?

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:42 pm
by deano
they troll as fast as you like and have a strong action. only caught a couple of barra on them but haven't used them much as yet

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:57 pm
by doors off
Harbour cod like them.

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:57 pm
by itsinmeblood
got a heap of swampies from the adelaide and finniss fresh around chrissy using the 80mm in purple upped the hooks 1 size and it's a ripper suspending lure

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:45 am
by JewieQueen
:D Rammers and myself have been using the Warlocks since last May! They are awesome. I will never forget the day she told me they had the smalller ones in stock at FOW. I was like a little kid at christmas time! I rate them :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:58 am
by punter
Love the flames on the eyes........sure to catch fish(ermen)!!!

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:48 am
by Blinky
Turtle wrote:Are they the same brand? I cant remember....
Yep, both Classics.

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:08 pm
by cuddlescooper
Used them during the nationals when they gave them away in the show bag of goodies that you get. They worked ok then but I wouldnt say that they are any better than the standard classics.

The doctor evil is one of the deepest diving lures that you can buy. Especially for there size. They got down deeper than the polterguists. :o .

As for catching more powertail on the warlocks I would agree. I believe that powertail are very sensitive to rattles and the warlock is about as loud as anything. When using Jackles and rattling spots the powertail catch rate goes up significantly!

The 80mm warlocks have a good action and hold in the water well so are a good choice for a small lure. A bit like flatzrats in action except the warlock holds in the water a bit better. The flatzies seem to blow out at a little bit of speed and the last couple I have used have all swum to one side even after playing with the eyelets. :evil:

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:59 pm
by max
I know what you mean CC them Flatzrats are a bugger for not swimming properly even after tweaking :fubird:

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:49 pm
by back-cast
You have some pictures i took last year before you could even buy them with fish i caught useing them on the Finniss Matt,, one was real Black and i remember you said how black it was.....