Painting/Re Painting Lures

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:04 am
by Faulksy
Was wondering if any one can point me in the right direction as to what paint they use to paint or touch up lures. I have a couple of bombers that are becoming see through. I was hoping to give them a touch up.

Cheers Pete :cheers:

Re: Painting/Re Painting Lures

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:22 am
by fishfanatic
Maybe give Reidy's lures a call or drop in and seem them?

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:54 am
by ponyplay
Heading back to the south for the runoff hey faulksy

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:57 am
by RUM-A-MUNDI
I saw some pretty flash looking gold chrome spray paint at bunnings on the weekend, i was thinking of giving it ago.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:58 am
by Blinky
I’d give enamel a try first up, not sure if you can get that gold in enamel although. You’ll need to put a few protective coats of clear over enamel as well.
If you gunna use acrylic, just give a little area a go first as it may react with the plastic.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:59 am
by muntzy
Get out your face painting gear Faulksy.. you know all your sparkles and glitters :rofl:
I remember seeing a post BC did a while back about repainting some bombers, (think they were black though).

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:22 am
by 2rods
buy some new ones ya tight arse.... :-)

I have a can of that gold paint here.....not to keen on putting it on plastic lures BUT it did go ok on a hardhat....and gave it 3 coats of clear over the top....if you want to borrow the hardhat for the Karratha mardigra yell out....I will dig it out of the kids dress up box for you :lol: :rofl: :rofl:

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 am
by GoodLookinPete
Gold Bombers don't work anyway, toss em out. In fact I'll help and get rid of them for you :mrgreen:

I crack me up.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:36 am
by cuddlescooper
What would ya want to repaint them for anyway? They dont start working till they have no paint left on them! I cast mine on the Gravel a few times to knock the paint of when there new! :jester:

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 am
by Faulksy
ponyplay wrote:Heading back to the south for the runoff hey faulksy
Why would you think that PP? :wink:
cuddlescooper wrote:What would ya want to repaint them for anyway? They dont start working till they have no paint left on them! I cast mine on the Gravel a few times to knock the paint of when there new! :jester:
Dont mind them looking rough but reckon once they are see through they are not much chop.
2rods wrote:buy some new ones ya tight arse.... :-)

I have a can of that gold paint here.....not to keen on putting it on plastic lures BUT it did go ok on a hardhat....and gave it 3 coats of clear over the top....if you want to borrow the hardhat for the Karratha mardigra yell out....I will dig it out of the kids dress up box for you :lol: :rofl: :rofl:
Man up and stop blaming the kids for your dress up box. :naughty:
muntzy wrote:Get out your face painting gear Faulksy.. you know all your sparkles and glitters :rofl:
I remember seeing a post BC did a while back about repainting some bombers, (think they were black though).
Cheers Muntzy I think the face paint must be a Richmond thing as I dont have any. :mrgreen:
fishfanatic wrote:Maybe give Reidy's lures a call or drop in and seem them?
:cheers: sounds like a good idea.
Blinky wrote:I’d give enamel a try first up, not sure if you can get that gold in enamel although. You’ll need to put a few protective coats of clear over enamel as well.
If you gunna use acrylic, just give a little area a go first as it may react with the plastic.
Thanks Blinky I thougt you would have painted a few at some point :cheers:

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:10 am
by Balls
G’day Faulksy

Lots of options depending on how much time, effort & $$$ you want to put in, first up which ever you decide, remove all of the remaining gold, as it will only flake later & waste whatever effort you put in to repaint the lure.

I generally use auto acrylics with an air brush, but you can use auto acrylic spray cans or whatever else you have access too. If you use any of the Gold colours/Gold chrome etc out of the can from paint shops, Bunnings etc, as soon as you coat them with a clear coat they will lose their sheen & will be more like a dull gold colour!

A couple of basics with painting lures, any lure you are spraying, base coat it with white & then go from there, pearls, stripes, scales & colours the follow, if you are doing a few, make stencils for stripes etc out of forticon (orange plastic used under concrete), plastic sleeves or similar.

An easy option to repaint those Bombers would be to remove all of the gold chrome, base coat with white, then second coat with white pearl, black (circular) around the eye area & then stick yours eyes in the middle, red throat for cosmetics etc if you want.

I have occasionally resprayed various plastic lures for mates & haven’t had any dramas with the auto acrylics, if they have polycarbonate bibs you can’t use methylated spirits to clean the bibs, a chemical reaction occurs & eventually the bib will crack, no drama with the Bomber bib as its all out of the one plastic.

You can end up with a good gold reflective finish using gold glitter over a base white & or other colours for that matter using various coloured glitters & or Candy Tone paints over the glitter but it would be more time consuming + the use of epoxies.

I will probably do a spiel on rebuilding/repainting lures topic next year at one of the DGFC catch ups & will post on the forum for anyone interested & or if you want to have a yak about it just give me a buzz, cheers Balls.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:42 am
by Faulksy
Thanks heaps for the Info balls I will give it a go. Pretty keen to keep a Gold flash on them if I can.

Cheers Pete

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:47 pm
by itsinmeblood
nail polish with the sparkly bits in it?...even comes with its own wee brush

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:56 pm
by Brent Matthews
By the time Bombers need replacing the hooks are ready to pull out of the plastic anyway so just chuck them in the bin.............

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:55 pm
by Pecheur

I am lucky enough to have a daughter.
And she LOVES nail polish.

She loves to play with it, but when I ask her if I can borrow some of it for my fishing lure so fare she always said yes.
It might change when she will be a bit older and use the expensive stuff, but for now she is happy with the $2 basket at the pharmacy.

So it is what a Gold Bomber look like after it goes through my little one nail polish.
It is very simple and quickly done, and so fare, fishes seems to have the same taste as her when it comes to nail polish...
:lol:
Flashy colours and glitters.

No art job there but here it goes.