looking for boof frog advice

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:38 pm
by Mud
Loving these big white boof frogs from squidgee...seen good results already but I'm not sure of the best way to rig or swim them. I've been working them slowly like scum frogs but some lads have said they are designed to be swum fast across the surface. Any advice on the best way to rig them weedless and how they should be swum? I think the lads who fish the dams have been using them for a while?

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:54 pm
by Pecheur
Hi Mud,

Someone told me that he was using them for the queenies.
Ripping them as fast as he could on the surface, and he said that they were really good for that.

But I am yet to try them, so can't confirm the thing.

Pecheur.

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:05 pm
by doors off
G'day Mud,
I gave them a try down at Shady fresh back in Feb and a got a few small Barra and a really nice Saratoga. I rig them on a large Gamakatsu Jungle Style hook (unweighted) and peg right up in the back of the grass and lillies and then retreive with a very high rod and at quite a speed. Makes for pretty speccy fishing when you see the fish pushes through the lillies after them. You fish them a lot faster than a normal placcie or scum frog (they do sink slowly if you slow down which is not bad for dropping them off a lily).
The action appears pretty subtle, but don't worry too much, keep casting. :fishing:

Hope that this helps.

Doors Off :drinking1:

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:17 pm
by Chasing_@_130
Rig them weedless. Not sure of the name of the type of hook i used but it had a small weight on it half way along the shank. When placed through the frog, this weight is on the bottom..... and fish them fast enough so that they swim along the top..... the legs make an awsome movement through the water, and the weight keeps them stabilized so they swim straight.
Thats how I fish them anyway!!!! Exciting fishing too

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:20 am
by Blinky
Chasing is on the money, rig ‘em weedless. For surface work use a worm hook, if you want to go subsurface stick ‘em on something like an Owner Beast, they come in a variety of weights depending on how deep you want to fish.
I mostly use the 1/8 oz jobbies and scoot just under the lilies, ‘Toga go absolutely apeshite over them when fished this way.

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:14 pm
by Mud
Someone told me that he was using them for the queenies.
Interesting Pech..I never thought of salt water pelegics that but why not?.....

You fish them a lot faster than a normal placcie or scum frog (they do sink slowly if you slow down which is not bad for dropping them off a lily).
Thanks Doors Off...always count on you to know how to work a soft plastic!!

and fish them fast enough so that they swim along the top..... the legs make an awsome movement through the water
Thats what I thought Chasing...when I tried it I was thinking hey this is too fast...like Im pulling it in to get a bit of weed off..you dont usually get hit. But I think I just have to get over my habit of working slowly around the lillies lol

use the 1/8 oz jobbies and scoot just under the lilies
interesting Blinky...so they work under water too...thats good to know for sinking one down over a snag...

Cheers lads
Im gonna have lots of fun playing with these!!!

zman frogs

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:05 pm
by fff1964
Just ordered some zman frogs i'm going to try some of your tactics.
They are a popper type plasic frog, will let you know how they go.

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:29 pm
by Mud
Hey fff1964
keen to hear how they go!!

Will report on boof frog survival rate.......

Boy's future in mind

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:10 pm
by fff1964
Do you think cane toads will eventualy have an effect on this style of lure fishing. these lures still work in QLD bbbbuttt just a thought..

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:25 pm
by Dick
Them impoundmnet mob do what they call 'burning a frog' comes in on the surface at 100mph, gets a reaction strike from a barra, used in the shallows on fussy fish that turn their noses up at anything else that's slow enough for them to think about.

Yes they work well as a sub surface lure, lightly weighted, let them sink and work them along the bottom in little bounces.

Squidgey nah! there are better around with bigger paddle feet and their quality control better on the product.

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:24 pm
by Richieboy
Dick's right. The squidgie frogs get wrecked pretty easy due to there skinny feet design. I personally prefer to use Zoom Horny toads rigged as stated in earlier posts.
Fish em on spinsticks with good ratio reels for a speedy retrieval.
Another good brand is Tiki.
TT jigs make pre weighted wormhooks. 1/8th oz is good with enuf weight to toss em a mile and with the weight under the plastic always ensures your frog lands upright.
Only annoying thing can be the nose of your frog slipping off the shank of the hook. I'll tie leader to hold it up or some folks use glue.
Gammakatsu now make a worm hook design specifically for weedless rubbers that prevent slippage off the shank. No weight tho.

Richie

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 2:28 pm
by Mud
Do you think cane toads will eventualy have an effect on this style of lure fishing
I think healthy environments are pretty resilient. Cane toads have had an effect but succession is a normal process....question is how well will we adapt?
'burning a frog' comes in on the surface at 100mph
Excellent!!! Will bring out the latent mud hoon! I like the idea...it lacks the finess that I lack!!
Only annoying thing can be the nose of your frog slipping off the shank of the hook. I'll tie leader to hold it up or some folks use glue.
Gammakatsu now make a worm hook design specifically for weedless rubbers that prevent slippage off the shank. No weight tho.
Thanks Richie boy...after dicks comment I bought different frogs (no brand name on body or packet..white with toes connected to body) and took them down to east arm off the rocks there left of the boat ramp. Flicking into a drain got me hooked up to three mid-sized barra (may have been the same puzzled one) all of which threw the hook after a few jumps. Interestingly I was mixing it up with shallow hard bodies which didnt get a look. Now I need to look at hook-up issues......ie I prob didnt need to rig them weedless as they were totally on the surface...

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 2:37 pm
by Mud
..oh yeah! As the tide came in a school of trevs surfaced working a small bait ball. They would over and over form themselves into a wall that looked liked silver bricks...each perfectly placed in its spot to circle the bait as a wall. Maybe a millimeter between them. And as they did it they vibrated, churning the water and forcing the bait together!! This went on for about an hour. So cool!! i've never seen that before. Young fella was with me so he tossed a prawn at them. Hooked one and lost it then hooked another which is in the fridge. Cool!

Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:12 pm
by SeekingBarradise
Hi Mud good thread mate, sorry us canetoads are a bit late on this one.

Frogs
Dicks right, boof frogs wouldn't be in the top 10, let alone top 100 frogs on the market with regards to flexibility of fishing approaches. They are a faster burning full speed frog.

Others such as the ones some of the boys listed are more versatile and can operate in all 10 gears, from 0 - on the drop, to level 10 - flat out.

I've attached a few pics of some hooks we are using down here at Awoonga with Rod Harrison & Johnny Mitchell (guides) to name a few handy fisho's.

The green frog pictured is a Reaction Innovation frog, from Kimmy Bains plastic stable. The Brown one is a Manns Frog.

I'm not sure if Matty Flynn put some frog pics in the latest NT Mag when we fished Manton Dam when i straightened a 6/0 hook.

What is being done with frogs, has been done with fizzers by a few smart fella's for decades. For these fella's it's not the frog, but it's the concept of fishing that is being used to trigger fish.

-------------
Internet
I like you NT fella's, your site doesn't have the idiots we seem to have in the south east corner (internet idiots) since barra have been placed closer to larger populations. All of a sudden everyone is a Buffalo hunter with a rod in his hand these days, never seen a croc, never seen a buffalo let alone been chased by one, and never been to the NT, let alone lived there. You guys seem to have a lot less people competing to be Mr Barra of Aus. You guys never forgot why you go fishing, i hope it stays that way as this site is a golden egg in the declining standards of the internet fishing scene is Oz.
-------------

Photo's
I'll try and find some more pics of frogs to post in the future. I'm off to have another fish with Harro on the weekend, that old wiley fella is always working on ways to outsmart brother barramundi, it's a pleasure to share a boat with him, let alone a campfire.

Cheers Lyndon

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo15 ... baitsR.jpg

Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:55 pm
by Dick
Hey Lyndon

Think this may be that Manns frog of yours. Still got it, just pulled it out to compare it with your pic :grin: