Land based metery double

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:52 am
by goldfish
Got these 2 a fair few years back on 20lb firelne but thought I'd share it with you fellas anyway ...

After all it's not to often you'll get 2 in an hour along with a few 90s and a pile of 70 plus ones. Right in the beginning of the dry season too note the jacket.

These 2 measured in at 112 and 109

Good luck ... :drinking8:

Re: Metrey douldle

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:01 am
by mickkk
If you caught a "pile" of 70s I don't understand why you would dong a 109 or a 112 on the head (personally don't get ever knocking a 90 plus, but respect people's right, but would have thought the 70 would have been much better to chomp on.)

Re: Land based Metrey douldle

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:22 am
by goldfish
If you caught them do whatever you want. .. mickkk

It was the done thing back then. I've only ever killed 3 meterys in 30 yrs. And I've seen thousands go belly up in fish kills so I don't reckon it's a big deal. I release 95% of them now and keep them to 80.

The 70s were good on the chew and the meterys aren't too bad on the tooth either try one one day... if you can't revive it after a trip back to the car for the camera and a few pics are you just gonna throw it in for the crocs?? We took our 15 fish with 3 blokes fishing and went home. It's almost a 650 plus km trip out that way so we'd bag out then leave with a loaded esky. Not like we'd be doing it everyday either.

Just my 2c worth....

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:09 pm
Nice pair!

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:40 pm
by cjgp
Nice fish dude, thanks for the pics

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:50 pm
Great fish :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:56 pm
by Eman
Great fish mate

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:50 pm
by fishfanatic
Yeah a few years ago....you've aged with plenty of wrinkles :mrgreen: :)

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:07 pm
by Tap'n'Zap
Thumpers, well done.

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:10 pm
by goldfish
fishfanatic wrote:Yeah a few years ago....you've aged with plenty of wrinkles :mrgreen: :)

Yeah i know , I feel 100 years old some mornings, still not as wrinkly as u but ol fella. ... I'm still in my 30s :rofl:

Wish we had better gear when I was younger it would've been great to land some of the bigger fish that made me look like a complete amateur. ... 12lb mono on big fish in close to the snags or oysters just didn't cut it. You might as well have got a hundred dollar note and burnt it to save the heartache and hassle of the lost lures each time. Think i got a few in the 90s but wasn't till I had braid on my curado that I got my first metery at 108cm Landbased it made my day. Also setting the standard for the next 10 years I got plenty over the $ to 106 it took me ages to better that one. Which i did with a 110cm LB at shady.

Got one last year that went just over 120cm also landbased from the same creek i pulled that 108 from so many years back. Mate of mine got a 127 not far from there so I'm still keen to get a bigger one the next hit could be a monster especially on the oyster headlands in kakadu around sept.oct.

That carrot is what keeps me casting for them despite the heat, sandflies, mozzies, snags, lost ones, rising expenses and other issues that go hand in hand with these jumping red eye fish.

Gotta be in it to win it my friend. A day spent at home thinking about it is a day wasted, get out amongst it !! Nobody lives forever. Hell with the expense, get out amongst it, you won't get them off the couch. .... :drinking8:

'' I'll live while I'm alive, I'll sleep when I'm dead '' so they reckon