South Alligator 22.3.16 metre fish finally!

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:51 pm
I had no luck getting a decky so I left alone this morning. The Wildman and Alligator branches are low and brown, Mary river is high and pumping. Culvert creek is flowing and full of bait. I got to the ramp at 7:30 and there was no sign of the mud bar, retrieved 2hrs before bridge low and there was still 2.8m of water. Nourlangie is pumping plenty of fresh, so I went up there and lobbed big plastics and rolled them downstream. I was getting a few tentative takes but no hookups. 20 mins after arriving, my line went taut and I hooked what I thought might be a 60cm fish. I gained 10m of line and then the thing went berserk! A huge slab of barra launched itself clear of the water and then floored it towards a snag pile 30m away. I thumbed the spool (new line last week and 80lb leader, phew!) and turned it a metre short of the snag. It then ran deep and upstream and we tussled for a few minutes while I untangled the net. When I finally got it boatside the current was too strong to net it one handed so I then dug around for the lip grips. I got her on the jaw then cradled her in and measured it at 101cm, stoked!!

I put my phone on video and managed to get part of me in the photo, what a shocker!

I'll put some more photos of the river after this post, it's looking good!

#Deepriver

Re: South Alligator 22.3.16 metre fish finally!

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:08 pm
The good oil

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:08 pm
by sharkbait
Nice work! Great solo effort too.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:14 pm
by NBN
Great effort mate; you and Bellfish would make a formidable combo!

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:46 pm
Great fish, congrats!

Great report too, river looks surprisingly good.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:52 pm
by ozdodge
You bl..dy ripper!!

Good on ya,

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:00 pm
by justlearning
Well done and I just saw your post about
The deckie and I did f all today
Still waiting on parts for the boat.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:11 pm
by balou
Top report congratulations.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:26 pm
by Shrek16
Awesome report! Thanks for the info!!

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:33 pm
by Marro
Well done mate. Good fish good report.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:17 pm
That's Awesome mate , BLOOOOODY cracker solo :applause: :applause: :applause:

Cool write up and pics ,,,, thanks :mrgreen: :catch:

I bet the Deckies jump on board next trip....

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:34 pm
by craig.g
Well done Theo, great effort especially solo.

cheers Craig

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:16 pm
by Tap'n'Zap
Great solo recon. work mate and to top it off with a metery is just outstanding. well done.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:31 pm
by jabsy
Excellent job. Would have been tempted to answer your post looking for a deckie but have been off work crook...

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:21 am
Haha saw this on FB. Well done mate. My only metery was solo too. Its a good feeling to do it alone. Congrats