Shady on 20-01-2016

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:54 am
by mcminnsmob
Hi Guys,

Well the family headed out to Shady, first time out in the boat this year.
As usual early start at the ramp on 0600hr and ~10 cars waiting to launch, the nerves kicked in wondering if we would be able to launch.
Any way all on the boat and under way at 0700hrs, with another 12 cars waiting to launch.

So as you have experienced ~45 boats at the mouth for the day, here we go.

Had issues with the motor revving at idle on 1500-2000rpm, so crunching the gears was the only way to go.
So with that issue we stayed clear of the edges to avoid crunching in and out of gear, so we just tried long trolling runs.
Just on low-tide (1030hrs) the Mrs landed a 66cm thready, then not long after the young fella lands a 59cm barra.

We had seen heaps of power-tails caught and massive bends in the rods, a few barra and some salmon, great too see fish being caught.

So still hopeful of catching another barra we keep on fishing and ~1300hrs I hook up, no jumps until right next to the boat, Faark it's a barra get the net all hell breaks out on the boat.

Any way got her in, she is 102cm, welcome to the club, a few happy snaps with the cr.p camera.

Swim her for 10minutes, she is keen to go, happy days.

Re: Shady on 20-01-2016

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:59 am
by NT Wombat
Well done - good to see the big ones swim away

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:12 am
Great stuff Niall. Its a bl..dy cracker

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:30 am
Top report mate , 8) great fish :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:00 am
by ozdodge
Wicked! - good on ya!

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:02 pm
by wazdog
Well done mate, good to see her swim away!!! Maybe the guy that caught the 120cm could take a leaf out of your book buddy!!!!

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:39 pm
by Quinntreximon
Great stuff well done. Persistance paid off.

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:48 pm
by slamminsam
Good one!

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:25 pm
by Skippadman
Good work mate

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:28 pm
by Richieboy
Wazdog, ease up buddy. Col and the boys from Reidys reckon old mate took 20mins trying to revive the big girl but it wasn't to be.
Never be too quick to pass judgement brus.

Richie

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:16 am
Well done

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:14 am
by nomad
Just wondering, when trying to revive a big girl, is keeping them in the net alongside and motoring into the current the better way to go? my best is still only 98 but it took ages to get her running again using the hand over the side method

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:18 am
by callmejoe
Great catch

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:20 pm
by muntzy
Crackin' Fish Niall, well done!

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:37 pm
by craig.g
Well done, great fish n great report, so thanks.

Nomad that would also work but one thing to remember as you probably already do is to leave the fish in net and water until you are ready to remove lure, have camera ready, etc, etc beforeringing her on board to minimise time out of water, stress, etc on that big girl!
im always nervous swimming big fish myself, thinking on investing in extra long lip grips, need to catch the big girls 1st though lol.