Page 8 of 17

Re: New! The Metre Barra Club

Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 8:24 pm
by Trier
Mates like that should be made to swim home, leaving the fish behind them.....

I hope he paid his share of the fuel (100%).

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:12 pm
by luke courtney
I caught this 1.2 meter Barra up at yeppoon about 6 months ago on a popper at night, caught it real light gear on shore, 10 pound line and a 20 pound leader. Biggest fish i have ever caught.

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 6:55 pm
by shaggs
Nice barra Luke
Well done

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:53 pm
first post and its a 1.2,,,bit hard to improve on that :mrgreen:

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:28 pm
by luke courtney
Cheers, Its only the 2nd Barra Iv'e caught I used to trout fish alot in Tassie, so this is by far the biggest fish I've caught, I ended up to my neck in the water trying to keep it away from the reeds, best fight ever. Cant wait to get back up north for some more barra fishing

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:08 pm
Top fish dude :mrgreen: but if you come to the NT, dont enter the water for any fish :croc:

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:23 pm
by tony73
Hi, pretty new to the forum, saw this thread and just had to add my very first metery!

101cm, caught at Sampan, April this year, on a green Nilsy spearhead, trolling with everyone else

Will PM my address Matt cheers

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:34 am
by Mud
Great work Tony......an awesome runoff barra!!

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:51 pm
by Wrighty
Hi all, first post so here goes!
Run off this year and we'd been trolling the mouth of sampan for about 5 hours with the rest of darwin for a rat and a couple of blueys. Thought we'd give it one last run out from the mouth and back in again then head back upstream and hit a couple of the usual haunts (s bends and barrages) on the way back to the barrage to call it a day.
The run out from the mouth resulted in a solid 78cm fish which ended up in the esky. BEAUTY! We weren't going home empty handed at least...
After a few high fives and fresh stubbies in hand we turned back to have another troll over the same snag that produced the last fish and sure enough the result was his twin brother, another 78 for the esky!
Long story short (mainly because I type with one finger) a few more runs over the hot spot produced 4 more, 65, 3 in the 70s and an 85 with the 65 coming home and the rest going back in the drink fighting fit
After trolling out and back in we were pretty stoked with the last hours fishing and were ready to pull the pin but decided we better have one more pass over the sweet spot!
I hooked on to something very weighty but didn't have much go in it. In the past I have hooked some big rays out here (eagle rays i think) on lures and thought it must have been another.
After about 2 or 3 minutes of lifting this dead weight off the bottom I wasn't really making too much progress so started thumbing the spool and giving my new flueger rod a workout while cursing bl..dy RAYS!!!
Finally I got a glimpse of the double and leader then HOLY SH*T a horse of a barra rolled on the surface next to the boat with my classic lodged in her back by one hook of the back treble!
I couldn't believe what I just saw and the big girl obviously didn't like the look of my mug either as she exploded away from the boat. Chaos erupted, my knees started smashing together, the drag got backed off real quick and beers got knocked over while the boys were scrambling for the net!
I was sure the hooks was going to pull with every tail beat and head shake as there was only about 1cm of flesh between the treble and disappointment. A couple of minutes later and my biggest barra to date was in the net!!!!!! WOO HOO! My mate moony was in his boat next to us and filmed the whole fight. Well so we thought anyway, went to look at the footage back in town and he realised he didn't even hit record, Spewing! :banghead:
She went 121cm and was released after a few pics. Pretty sure the fishing gods were smiling on me that day! 8)
Cheers, wrighty

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:37 pm
by darwinguy
Top job Wrighty - nice fish

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:52 am
by Wrighty
Hey Matt,
not sure how to PM but my address is po box 1397 Howard Springs 0835
just incase you've still got some stickers left, got a perfect spot on the tinny for it...
Cheers mate!

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:42 pm
by cuddlescooper
At least you didnt drop that catch mate. 8) The ones on the cricket field however were a different story :roll: :lol: .

cracker fish bud! :cheers:

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:21 am
Sent the sticker Wrighty ... anyone else who has not received a sticker yet let me know :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:43 pm
by Lumborghini
I havent got a sticker..... but havent caught a metery yet either...

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:09 pm
by Wrighty
Thanks matt, champion!