Lizzy with the Kids

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:32 pm
by balou
Just came back from Bali so I didn’t have any fishing plans for Easter . Decided on Saturday to take kids for a spin down Lizzie river. Didn’t have bait in the freezer so we just decided to tow lures around upstream. Kids quickly got bored so out came the throw net. One or two throws and we had a dozen mullets for bait for the low.

We only managed a jack and a queenie we kept for Numus.

I can’t catch barra any more to save myself even using the old trusty dirty tactics of live baiting....still a great fews hour on water with the kids close to home.

Anyone care to devulge any sercret locations in Lizzie for live baiting Barra it will be greatly appreciated :D :D

Re: Lizzy with the Kids

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:58 pm
Well done. Looking forward to taking my son out soon

Re: Lizzy with the Kids

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:43 pm
by balou
Flickin4em wrote:Try bridge ck rockbars, theyre on the corner up inside it, wells ck bend has good deep rocky areas too and at its mouth can produce the odd baz , sometimes even around the bridge area produces some good ones into the 90s especially if fishing at night.

Flick lures to flats, good snags and gutters for lure fishing too. White floating australian series xrap 9 is deadly once upgraded with owners to handle the bigger fish.

But... the pick of the lot is above a serious section of rocks 6km plus upriver pic from old faithful fishfinder mag.

This is mostly a "lock in "spot when it fires on spring lows or tides of 2m or less so be prepared for a few extra hours from low before you can get out. There's a few spots up further for landbased jacks and good sized barra too. ..

Haven't gone there for a while ... getting old and spoilt now...too many better spots .. but most are miles away

If im going to "lock in" these days it'd be at shoal bay now.
Thanks for the tips mate. I reckon I know that lock in spot , went up there once in my friend tinnie about 10-12 years ago and he smashed his lower leg and prop. We got towed home by a passing boat. Some scary rock bars up there and not keen to ding the new stainless . Haha but diffinitelly try those other spots.

I been saying for ages I going to learn how to fish Barra in the harbour but get around to it.

I reckon the half of Darwin will be down Lizzie check out those locations next weekend based on your slayin post mate. Keep posting!