Daly river 16th/17th

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:35 pm
by Gibbsy
With the low to the northeast we decided to head to Daly as opposed to shady. Made way by 3rd and got to daily just before first light to find decent line at ramp. Everyone was doing their part to leave adequate room for people after they had launched. Not long after and we were on the water. We spent the first day looking for fresh pumping out. Stopped in at elliots creek found a heap of Barra working up with the bait just not hitting any offerings we threw. We pressed on and ended down at clear creek when we got our first fish.only a rat. Not much after that and the decision was made to head back up to elliots for the night. Good decision that was as from 5pm Friday all the way through to early Saturday the Barra were feeding hard. Tried plastics and hard bodies to no avail until we switched to surface lures. Finally after a dozen casts had hooked my first Barra on a fizzer going in at 61cm . My two mates having no luck with poppers. Made the call to cook dinner and relocate between trees for the wind later in night.after tieing up. Decided to dangle a birthday present and stroll with a ballista lure I had been given for my birthday whilst getting some shut eye . Less than half an hour I was woken up by my mates yelling and saying I had a fish on but it was tangled around the tree. Everything went a bit frantic from then on in. Having to untie boat prevent boat drifting into next tree as wind and current were up and untangle the line. Finally managed to free line and after a short fight a nice 71cm Barra was in the boat. The others boys immediately start strolling after that. Finally got some shut eye until woken up early in the morning from another splash. Got up nice and quick to see a fish in the 90s jumping and my tatula getting a workout. Quickly woke the boys up to untie again unfortunately by the time we had untied the fish had taken my lure into the snags and once there found my lure on a submerged log. Few more fish lost on the stroll in morning with my mate losing a fish also in 90s and a fat fish in the 80s. With the plan to pull out saturday lunchtime we sat down cooked up brekky and continued to flick as the Barra moved up with the bait. Watching big bow waves, shoulders of fish as they worked up along trees with the tide and hearing boofs every couple of minutes. Just before leaving had caught a 55cm visually by climbing onto tree and dropping white Zman onto his nose. With enough fish for a feed we headed back to the ramp coping a bit of rain on drive back. All in all was a good trip without coping much from the cyclone.

Gibbsy

Re: Daly river 16th/17th

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:01 am
by Gibbsy
Few pics

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:02 am
by Gibbsy
And a couple more

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:05 am
by Gibbsy
Yeah no worries flickin4em saw plenty of big fish on sounder as well. They are definitely there. Yeah it was a first for me too maybe just use a reel with a ratchet haha because if my mateschedule hadn't heard it probably would of lost the fish. Washington supreme to get it in line being chaffing of tree and once landed found hooks bent on the ballista

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:06 am
by Gibbsy
Yeah no worries flickin4em saw plenty of big fish on sounder as well. They are definitely there. Yeah it was a first for me too maybe just use a reel with a ratchet haha because if my mateschedule hadn't heard it probably would of lost the fish. Washington supreme to get it in line being chaffing of tree and once landed found hooks bent on the ballista

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:25 am
Cheers for the report. Waking up to a fish on while strolling can be a bit hectic!

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:30 am
by Gibbsy
Jesus bl..dy auto correct "was suprised to get it in line"

Yep woke me up pretty fast haha

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:13 pm
by NinjaFish
Maybe a 'Daly Supreme' :lolpoint: