Elizabeth river run

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:16 am
by steve29
Gday all did a run in Elizabeth river yesterday chasing barra for zip got a couple of taps but no hook up. Went up and down i think its called wells and then up around the next inlet on the same side as inpex. Did i go out on the right tide and when flicking lures and plastics do you just cast into and around trees and also when do you troll or flick lures just trying to learn on how to do it and when cheers any advise would be awesome :drinking8:

Re: Elizabeth river run

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:46 pm
by NinjaFish
My advice for the Elizabeth is... well, I just stay out of it now!
I've trolled from one end to the other fast and slow on all tides with the Deckie and co flicking enough lures to warrant a service on the bait-casters without ever getting a fish.
In saying that, a mate was up stream from the bridge on the neaps a fortnight ago with the kids and wee young lass was practicing her cast.... oops, that was bad, landed 10ft from the boat and slammed a 70 right on the head about 40ft out from the bank - go figure.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:12 pm
by steve29
Thanks ninjafish im sure there in there some were im guessing i just want to learn when to troll or when to flick and what to look for and what tides. Well i hope there is fish in there

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:42 pm
by NT Wombat
If your chasing Barra fish over the low, if the water is in the trees you have no chance, go home. On near tides live bait the rockbars around wells ck mouth, or fish the flats just upstream from Mitchell's ck. On springs follow the first of the incoming tide up Mitchell ck and flick lures and live baits at the rock bars and any snags tight in against the bank.

Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:51 am
by steve29
Cheers wombat thanks for the tip

Posted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:09 am
by NT Wombat
Plenty of bream, snapper, jacks and cod on those rockbars up top too, mainly small but the odd good fish, small live or dead baits fished on the first of the run in will get plenty of bites, once again once the water is in the trees it will all shut down

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:46 pm
by steve29
Cheers wombat ill give it a crack. Just trying to learn when to flick and when to troll.

Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:26 am
My method is,, Flick ,Flick,Flick , change lure , Flick, Flick , twitch twitch , Flick , :drinking5: , change lure , troll ,troll , troll
flick, flick flick :drinking5: , change lure , troll, troll, troll, troll ,change lure , flick , flick ,flick , twitch , flick ,flick ,flick ,twitch, change lure , troll, troll, troll, stop for lunch ,then repeat all the above . :D

sometimes its like that Steve , keep trying champ :catch:

Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:53 pm
by goldfish
Run a green bomber( small 2 hook version) and a white rapala x rap10cm when trolling or casting to the shallow gutter edges in either of the creeks mentioned above, the 2m lows will leave more areas fishable and a bit easir to navigate between spots than the bigger sets of spring tides. Watch for tricky sections of big rockbars if heading up towards the top. Got a few this year from around the island below the ramp using a 15A gold bomber cast into the bommies and oysters but not really sure why it's not as good as previous years.

Keep at it and record your trips in a diary to suss the areas and tides that you have got bites or fish at to build up a bit of info on the place.

Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:04 pm
by steve29
Cheers goldfish that info will work out great thanks heaps buddy. Ill get there fish or no fish i still love being on the water

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:05 pm
by steve29
Hey jeffish i love your method sounds like the way to go