Daly river Obese barra

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:29 pm
by wonderwobler
Landed this 108cm obese barra on April fools day not far from home, one of the heaviest barra I've seen, I was fishing solo so this is the only pic I took.

Re: Daly river Obese barra

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:03 pm
by mickkk
bl..dy fat. Looks like an impoundment Barra, just with out the gold.
Did it put up a good fight, or just too fat yo bother?

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:10 pm
Haha, fat bastard!

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:26 pm
by shaggs
In great nic that one

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:37 pm
Tooo many midnight snacks :chef1: , any idea on weight ?

Solid catch :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:33 pm
by Agent86
Ripper fish, fat as, could last till next wet without a feed!!

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:00 pm
by NBN
Wow!

When i was in Karumba last year I visited the Barramundi Discovery Centre. Interestingly, I learnt that there are circa 16 genetic variations in Barramundi populations in Australia. I used to think that Daly River barra were just very well fed (which they probably are) but genetically they are a heavier set fish compared to most other populations according to the science.

Again, wow.

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:03 pm
by jpb15
Nice Fish

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:34 pm
by Tap'n'Zap
Big girls need loving too, well done mate.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:49 am
by wonderwobler
Thanks NBN for the interesting info regarding the genetic variations and the Daly fish being heavy weights.
Mickkk she hit like a right hook from Tyson and I had to chase her for a couple of hundred meters in the current, she jumped once and fought deep the rest of the time.
Jeffish I'm getting older so everything feels heavier but I reckon near 18kg.

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:49 pm
A result of the 2017 big Wet buffet?

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:05 pm
Who ate all the pies

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:24 am
by wazdog
Great fish from a great river!well done buddy