Early run-off down the Daly, Yeeha!

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:24 pm
I ended up deciding on heading to the Daly yesterday arvo. The culverts on the way were up but didn't see any bait or catch anything there. I launched and headed up to Bamboo Creek and had a flick, it was pretty crowded so I headed downstream. Brown's mudbar is no problem any more. Charlie's looked great but there were a few boats there so I kept heading downstream until I had a creek to myself.

It was raining so I put my big tarp up and started to flick. One hit straight up had me interested. I wound in and saw the hook guard was still on. Bugger! As the tide lifted some bait started to flick around, I soon had a 73cm barra in the boat. I lost a few rigs in the snags then had another solid hit. bl..dy hook guard again! Having worked for pretty much 24hrs straight before heading down, I was wrecked and slept like the dead until 7 the next morning. No mozzie net needed, it was awesome.

The tide was dropping off high when I woke up, and there was bait activity again. I got another 5 legal fish to 75 over the next couple of hours, and dropped a few too- way more activity than I was expecting for so early in the season!

After an hour of fruitless casting I packed up the tarp and headed back to the ramp at 11 and was back in town for lunch.

So the run off has started!!!

Re: Early run-off down the Daly, Yeeha!

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:48 pm
by NBN
Very nice; great way to kick off the season, well done!

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:51 pm
by Luke35
8) Good start

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:06 pm
by Tap'n'Zap
That's awesome mate, well done.

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:40 am
by Edo
:cheers: nice work mate.............when are WE going down there next haha

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:00 am
by Finatic2
lovely looking chromies there great work

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:37 am
by nomad
good start to the wet down there. ive been watching the rise/fall or the river and it looks good.
just be very careful re burning the candle both ends. a few have lost their lives after working all day, driving down there, fishing all day/night and then driving back.
These days I need a sleep on the way down there :P

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:24 am
by fff1964
Well done that's a great start hope it stays that way.

thanks for the report.

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:15 am
by Melv
Early bird gets the worm :catch: .... nice work :mrgreen:

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:20 pm
by Agent86
A few nice barra there, well done

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:28 pm
by ozdodge
Good work!

Do the miles get the smiles....

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:45 pm
by Quinntreximon
Great work Theo. Awesome result and thanks for the info.

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:09 am
Well done mate

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:39 pm
by MattyLang
Awesome looking fish
Sorry for sounding dumb, where is the boat ramp that you used? Ive been out from Woolianna but is there a public ramp that is fairly safe (the car is ther when you get back)?

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:22 am
by Pecheur

Well done!
That might be more Barra than in my last two trips there.