Harbour 9 Feb 14

Dex38

Harbour 9 Feb 14

Post by Dex38 »

Well after seeing all this rain come on down and seeing a few lucky fisho’s catching some culvert Barra I thought I’d attack it from the creek side and head up a few tributaries to the drains. The wind this morning held off and the Harbour was glass. A few land based fisho’s had all but locked down the East Arm ramp with their various setups. So back down the ramp goes the boat and without being too persuasive the fisho’s move aside to let the boat slide off the trailer. We would have been maybe the fifth boat in the water. :o

Off to a local haunt we head, poking around looking for Barra. A lot of small baitfish in the harbour, but not much boofing or nervous water to be found. We sighted a couple of Barra chasing bait on the edges of the mangroves but we couldn’t hook up to any. So into the small creeks and backwater we headed. Again a heap of bait but no signs of any Barra. I motored the boat up to the rock bars, and with a bit of momentum raising the motor as we go I managed to get right up one of the reaches. As we drifted back out with the wind picking up a slight amount we cast at the snags with soft plastics. The wind pushed us back down the creek at a nice pace. :D

We landed Cod, Bream, Trevally and a nice size Mangrove Jack (42cm) to end off a quick morning session. :fishing:

No Barra for the brag mat this time. :(

Dex

Kadango

Re: Harbour 9 Feb 14

Post by Kadango »

Nice Jack mate, and thanks for the report - was going to head out this morning but other commitments took over - probably should have lol
In the 60's, people took acid to make the world weird. Now the world is weird and people take Prozac to make it normal.

Yep good post and a great Jack!! Still havent got one in 4 years ;(

Lazybones

Post by Lazybones »

Nice work.
wadeqld'r

Post by wadeqld'r »

Nice work mate, at least someone's getting out in the harbour
bmurdoch

Post by bmurdoch »

All lure fishing or some live bait?
Dex38

Post by Dex38 »

I haven't put bait in my boat for three years.

All soft plastics today ob as the tides are neap the water clarity was pretty good where we were.

Dex.

Nothing fights harder than a mangrove jack!

Well done for getting out there!

Ripper jack too!

ELQ28

Post by ELQ28 »

Awesome Jack!
polycraftking

Post by polycraftking »

nice jack

Nice report bloke. Beaut fish!

Uppo7

Post by Uppo7 »

Nice report and good jack mate!!
tucker85

Post by tucker85 »

Good stuff bud, rippa Jack!
'Tight Lines!'
Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

Cracker Jack.....(someone had to say it)
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!