A story with a happy ending......

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:39 pm
by sarrge
A session targeting barra with Seano in a coastal creek sounded like a great idea so I volunteered as deckie - then I got the details.

Those of you that know me would know just how much i relish the early start - i'm such a morning person.......

So a 4am :shock: start from Millner resulted in us being at our destination by 6.30am - lovely sunrise, heaps of bait but no barra.

Trolling.........Trolling........Trolling........Lure Change.........Trolling....... Nothing!

"Bugger this" says Sean, "Let's head up further and flick the snags" So we head off upstream finding lots of fishy looking water with lots of snags...... Nothing!

So we decide to leave. Heading down to the mouth again, Sean stops the boat, "Let's just troll the rest of the way". OK

We set off........Sean trolling and me trying to select a lure "This one looks shiny" I thought to myself, tying on an Axe (the lure, not the wood chopping implement)

I throw the lure out and let out a heap of line..............trolling.........trolling........

BANG!!! I'm on!!! and I look back to see a beautiful silver barra clear the water. "Thant's a good size" yells Sean, stopping the boat and quickly bringing his line in (all the while, mine is stripping line). Then i look down at my reel to see that I can actually count the individual loops of line left on my reel - and it's less than ten! I quickly thumb the reel and Sean reverses the boat so I gain a bit of line. And then it's back into it - slow steady pressure, slowly gaining ground, Sean offering advice. Then she's at the boat and straight into the net for a new PB at 94cm for Sarrge

A quick measure and a couple of pictures and back into the water she goes to fight another day.

Re: A story with a happy ending......

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:35 pm
by balawisway
not how u start but how finish... PB as well :)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:36 pm
by billy the kid
nice fish mate. top work

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:27 pm
Outstanding sarrge,,,,That's a ripper fish mate :applause: :applause: :applause:

where is the one seano got :uhh: :fishy:

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:01 pm
crackin' chrome fish :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:45 pm
by itsinmeblood
Onya sarrge, reckon you missed out on a cm at least on the mat

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:06 pm
bl..dy sweet as. I hope you thanked Seano for getting you out of bed so early? And I dont see a picture of this lure you speak of :)

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:38 pm
by DOUG
Should have left the brag mat shot out looks like a horse would have called it 110cm from the head shot!

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:00 pm
by olfart
A good 95, well done Sarrge. :clap:

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:35 pm
by sarrge
Alas, the lure is attached to an old crab pot in the mud at the bottom of the creek!

I forgot to mention that seano did get a rat when we were casting at the snags.....

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:47 pm
by Skippadman
Nice work

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:22 pm
Massive shoulders!

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:42 pm
by uniball
Nice fish mate, congrats on the new PB!

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:44 pm
by Pecheur
Well done Sarrge!

That is a very nice fish, and bigger than my personal PB...
Now it makes me want to work on that!
:wink: :lol:

Well done!
:applause:

It is true that Seano is a good guide...
:wink:

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:41 pm
by craig.g
Great fish

Cheers Craig