Fishing down here

Had a go in Western Port today for whiting.

No 3am rises for whiting,so up at a leisurely 6 and on the water by 7am. Fished the middle spit where we normally get a few.
Ended up with 24 King George ,most of them only 30-33cm,and a pike. Not a bad morning on the water,pretty easy fishing whiting fishing.

WesternPort has 3 meters tides which is a bit of a novelty down here,we got back to the ramp at low,was .3...as I had to get out and drag the old mans boat through the mud I had visions of Shoal Bay flooding back, at least this time I wasn't worried about being bitten by something :grin:

Only a couple of weeks before NZ,should be good. Bought myself a portable helmet video camera,so see if I can whip up a little video worth watching when I get back

Haven't done much the last 6 weeks or so since coming back from the NT. Squidding,that's about it.

Was time for a new adventure. All the hype down here now is the Southern Bluefin Tuna fishery off Portland. So me and my uncle headed down for a look early saturday morning.
Portlands about 4.5 hours west of Melbourne on the coast.

Got to the ramp at 3am saturday morning and there were already boats getting set up ready to get in line. By 5am it was busy as,so once my uncle arrived we put in and headed off in the dark. Once daybreak arrived we headed out to the 135 meter line, and chucked the skirts out the back in the wash.

Was a different world out there. Always pictured it to be lifeless,but the bird life was amazing,just everywhere you looked there were all sorts of sea birds you don't see on land.

The rolling swell,lack of fish,and all night drive put me to sleep at the wheel of the boat,to be awoken by the sound of a reel screaming! Double hook up! Was just me and my uncle,so we had a ball. Each time we got a strike it would be a double or triple hook up,so it was bedlam!

Was a great little morning session,and the fishery down there is world class. We didn't get any of the big barrells that are getting around there at the moment,but I'm not sure I could handle one of those...pulling them in was hard enough work. Heaps over 100kg caught the last fortnight,157kg the biggest caught on saturday. Thats a serious fish!

Anyway,was something different. Was flat enough for the cracker to get out there....should of taken it,would of been a good story for the old girl. Get another foggy weekend forecast in the next month I might give it a go

ImageImage
ImageImage

Hey jonesy, you only posted this to make KK's tuna look small :lol:

bl..dy nice fish!

Re: Fishing down here

Fishing trip ruined by wind,house work done,nothing on tv, so might as well waste some time online!

Add a few pics of the last 6 months or so,haven't done an update for ages.
Bought a little place down near the bay,so am only 2 mins from the ramp,and 15 minutes to westernport now,so plenty of fishing to be done now in the warmer months

Couple of fish from Bullen Merri last year
ImageImage

Had a trip to Vegas in August,so a visit to Basspro was a must. I'm pretty sure we hadn't gone to bed this morning and were waiting out the front for the store to open at 8am. Picture shows how excited we were,then we created minor havoc when they let us in. Even there fishing store has a casino...what a place!

Snapper season came and went again and was as good as ever. An amazing recovery that place has made since they banned the dredging
ImageImage
ImageImage

Got sent to Tassie for a few weeks in november for work,so snuck off a couple of times and caught a few browns in there highland lakes. Great place

Did a morning at mallacoota on the way up to Eucembene in december chasing flatties on plastics. What a great little place,first time I've been there,and the place has no shortage of easily caught flatties that's for sure.

Went to Eucembene twice in december. First time the fishing was brilliant until we had a massive downpour mid trip that turned the water to soup. Before that the fly fishing was as good as I'd seen it. Landed 9 on dusk one night in 30 minutes. Went back a few weeks later,was a bit quieter,but got some good browns
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

Now I'm living closer to the bays,I can easily head out before work when it's calm. Been getting into the King George lately which is great fun on light tackle,and they are beautiful to eat

Went to Nelson last weekend chasing Mulloway. They dissapeared a few days before we got there as always,managed to fluke one small one. Plenty of decent bream amongst the millions of tiny ones
ImageImage

Was supposed to be yabbying this weekend in the wimmera,but we postponed due to the weather. Next weekend is looking good at this stage,so it's fair to say I'm going to try and demolish a few kgs of yabby meat next weekend! :lobster: :chef2:

He,s back :o even wearing skilda jumpers in his photo,s .
Good photo's , those whitting look tasty as :chef1:

Nice fish there Jonesy. Love those KG's. And theres a few nice trout there. Looks like some decent fishing down there. Nice Bass Pro cap too, I got one the same.

Great report and good pics mate
Well done

Shaun
mazza

Post by mazza »

Jonesy.. The boys have been smashing the kingys and stripeys out off 90 mile in the last 2 weeks. Getting a fish every drop on slices and knife jigs..

Lake Hume is dead ATM. Few reddies around. The yellas have sunk back into the depths. The Murray river has just broken its banks again they're dumping the water out because of all the rain we've been getting around here and the snowy mtns.... Mulwala looks like a bowl of brown soup. Cod on the surface, but only in the darker hours..
Always trust your dog

Wound back the clock to the old days as kids last weekend and had a crack at the yabbies that have surged back into fashion with all the rain.

Had an absolute feast....don't want to see another one for another decade now

Some great reports lads...Jonesy you are getting some great fish! Love the trout pics...makes me homesick!

jonesy wrote:Wound back the clock to the old days as kids last weekend and had a crack at the yabbies that have surged back into fashion with all the rain.

Well done mate and enjoy them
I cant get a feed like that up here anymore ,they'd lock me up if they found me with that many

Shaun

jonesy wrote:Wound back the clock to the old days as kids last weekend and had a crack at the yabbies that have surged back into fashion with all the rain.

Makes me feel ill looking at them shells , only good for 50 snood cross line them muddy things

A half yearly update

As i said in the other thread,bit tied down these days,so not getting out as much. Winter was fairly horrific this year at best. Fishing options are limited in the colder months to squid,squid,squid,salmon and trout in the fresh. Coming good now though. Another 4-6 weeks and there will be options a plenty

Trying to think what I've done since last update. Eucembene at easter as always. Was getting some good late season snapper in May when everyone else had given up for the year well and truly. Was great fishing being the only boat out there,I don't think people realise you can still have good fishing out from the peak oct-jan times

Headed up to South west Rocks near Coffs harbour in July,for a week. That was an awesome spot. Did something new and fished for Luderick with the weed,was a bit of fun and took a bit of a trick to get them. The salmon off the beaches there were great. Landing 4-8lb fish every cast...the locals don't even bother. Stopped halfway on the way back at Eucembene.....this was an eye opener to say the least. I'd only ben there in the warmer months. Driving up to Buckendera and seeing widespread snow on the ground and road automatically made me wonder how I was going to go sleeping in the car......

I'd heard stories about fishing there in winter with guides freezing and what not,but to experience it was something else. As soon as the sun dissapeared ice started forming on the fly rod,so every 2-3 casts had to dip it into the water to melt it. I gave up once darkness set it in,but re emerged from the car about an hour after dark to have another crack...Was impossible to fish,I couldn't believe it. The flyline would lock solidly too the rod and guides,literally couldn't cast...it was instant ice. That night in the car was one of the longer one's I've experienced that's for sure. It got down to Minus 9.7........
Fair to say the next night I went and bought some matches and burnt every single log that lay on the ground of the entire Buckendera arm....

The other weekend tried a few of the south west lakes that had been fishing well for trout. First stop was Lake Tooliorook in the middle of nowehere. An explosion of rainbows in there at present that luckily not many have cottoned onto yet. Was like fishing a trout farm,so we got our bag there as easy it could ever be. That night headed over to Bullen Merri to cook tea and throw a rod out off the bank. In the morning I woke to a nice 5.5lb brown that took a live bullhead under a float that I left in next to the swag overnight...I never even heard the bell.

The reds will be in within the next month or so. Will try and spend some more time fishing for Mulloway over the spring/summer if I get the chance

bullhead used

Lake Tooliorook rainbows

Sw rocks salmon and Luderick
ImageImage

Eucembene in winter
ImageImage
ImageImage

May Frankston snapper
ImageImage

Eucembene at easter
ImageImage

Great post Jonesy, churrrist that place looks cold, it makes Tasmania look like the Bamboo Lounge :lol:

Stonkin' brown :mrgreen:

I'll be fishing the Huon River in the next few weeks so you'll have a bit of competition with pictures of big browns :catch:
Kenty

Post by Kenty »

Stuff the Huon Matt, give the Tyenna a go!
I went there last year (article in current Fishing Wild Mag) and we got a 20lber on fly and my mate just caught a 27lb6oz monster on a soft plastic a few weeks ago.