Fishing down here

Boredom has set it this arvo,so I've resorted to forum whoring...

Had two more trips out on the bay,the first one we got 4 before being blown off by a storm last week.

Last weekend had couple of mates annual natives weekend,I promised them Eildon yella's,unfortunatly barometer was under a 1000,was windy,so we resorted to the pondage first off. Luckily fisheries did the right thing by us and put a few hundred 1kg rainbows in the day before,which were fairly willing to hit lures. So we got a few of them. Decided to go over to the lake late arvo,but it was windy,water was dirty,and a massive storm came through...I had to sit in the tent so it didn't blow away,then it filled with water,everything got wet,so we decided to pull up stumps and head back to Melbourne....long day.
Next day we pillaged some blokes house dam that had Reddies in it. had a bit of fun on them,TT vibes dominated over all the other lures.

During the week I got up wednesday morning at 3am to go out in the bay,but the tiredness got the better of me and I got back into bed. Bad decision! Mate fished my mark,for 11 snapper to 12lb....

This morning I went out,unfortunatly the wind was still blowing 15 from the west,which is not good for cracker,Sw,west,NW,not good for my side of the bay in my boat. Decided I drove all the way down so might as well make the slow trek out in the slop. Bad decision! Pulled a doughnut.....didn't get to the secret squirrel mark,fished an old faithful,but it didn't produce. Once the tide swung it went wind against tide,the wave height doubled in about 3 minutes.....I was out of there! No place for a 3.85m tinny when it starts to get up.
Did a quick few drifts over my squid spot and got the bag of ten in no time,at least it was something to get out of bed for.Image

This weeks forecast doesn't look favourable for the cracker at all. I really need a bigger boat. A few more weeks and I'll switch bays and start fishing westernport for whiting I think.

Starting to itch for a barra session..

Woke up at 3am this morning and had a look at the wind online,looked ok (bugger it,wanted to go back to bed!). Haven't had to many chances to get out the last few weeks due to the weather, so had to make most of it,also coming up to the new moon, I always get better size fish on it,this morning ended up being no exception to that rule.

The wind got up about 5.30 and i was starting to look at the waves hitting the front of the cracker more than the rods. In the chop i lost a good fish,but it was pretty quiet. Was just about to pull the pin around 6am as the wind was making me edgey,then a rod took off and the wind dropped. Landed that one about 6lb.

Had a few smashed baits and bend overs but missed them,then a squid head took off on a lighter rod. New it was a better fish by the head shakes and weight. 20 seconds into the fight another rod screamed off....Ended up landing both,9 and 10.5lb.

Got the bag before 7am,went in close for squid,but salmon were busting up everywhere,so think the squid had fleed the area. landed a few salmon around .5kg,then headed home.
Tough start to the week!
Might give it another crack tommorrow. Before the winds get up again wednesday

ImageImage

Great fish, you must be stuffed by knock off time. :drinking1:

nice fish :mrgreen: , how far out our you going to get them ?

ponyplay wrote:nice fish :mrgreen: , how far out our you going to get them ?
Been getting them 5km out from Frankston. Get them anywhere pretty much,just this mark is always consistant,so been fishing it this year whilst my sounder was not working properly,couldn't sound for fish,so just went gps marks.

P.S- Your transducer worked a treat :cheers: . I even have temp again for the first time in 3 years....

Wanted some fresh squid for Nelson after xmas, so went out at 3am this morning,but couldn't find any.
So headed out deep in chase of some snapper. The reports in close have been ordinary,so I went out deep to the 20m mark,must of been about 15kms out at least. Sounded up some good marks on the bottom,managed to snare two and missed a couple others,but I had skanky bait,everyone sold out of fresh stuff last night,so ended up with dirrty servo Silver whiting,had of had fresh bait i would of done better I think. Wind started to get up about 8am,so made the long haul back into it.

That'll be the end for snapper season 09 for me, wasn't a bad one, got fish most times. Need a bigger boat if you want to get serious with them but,I'm too reliant on calm days.

Chasing the mulloway boxing day for a few days down the Glenelg,then back off to Eucembene for new years.

Best of the festive season to you all.
John Whitegoods

Post by John Whitegoods »

great post mate. Those snapper make the mouth water. Do you get the ones with the big lump heads or are they out deeper?

that cracker has surley bagged more species of fish than any boat under 4m in Aus ...

JohnWhitegoods AKA Dave

Drugs are not the answer, unless the question is what is not the answer

John Whitegoods wrote:great post mate. Those snapper make the mouth water. Do you get the ones with the big lump heads or are they out deeper?

that cracker has surley bagged more species of fish than any boat under 4m in Aus ...
Probably get more bigger one's in close than out deep,and more at night. However they're few and far between the big knobbers,though they got quite a few around the 20-24lb mark this year in Western Port for those in the know.

Not quite there yet JW,got Southern Bluefin Tuna in the sites for autumn 2010...just need to do a recon trip first in a proper boat to see if it's suicidal or not!

well done Jonesy and co.....great to hear reports from down there!! Nice snapper lads...sounds like the sea can be a challenge though.

Another festive season done and dusted.

After xmas headed down to Nelson on the Glenelg river. Was very keen to get into some mulloway action.

Arrived at the ramp at 2am and sussed out the cleaning table....mulloway scales,excellent! Had no live bait at that time,so had a couple of blocks of pilchards,thought I'd have a go at cubing them,and casting lures...alas it didn't work.
On daylight headed up river to chase some bream and get a snooze in the boat. Half way up river the motor starts giving me buggery,just wouldn't go over walking pace,was thinking bad fuel or something(24 hours later discovered it was just spark plugs...bright 'spark' I am..).

That arvo headed down the mouth and caught a few dozen little mullet for live bait,then anchored up on sunset. Was certain things were going to happen with the live bait,the fish were sitting under me on the sounder,saw a couple bust the surface...it was only a matter of time....
The time went by,and soon it was 3am,and I never had a run! To top it off the motor wouldn't start and I had to row back to the ramp which took an hour.

Next day,motor fixed,amazing what two new spark plugs will do...
Got some crabs and fished for bream,caught a few but nothing spectatcular. Headed 25km up river for the night where they were getting them a few weeks earlier.
All was quiet ,then at 1am,I wake to a reel running. Pick it up,dropped it,only felt little,but wowee,a run after 3 nights. Baited up with another squid head and was dozing off again under two blankets and bang,reel runs again,this time I land it. 3 nights sitting in the cold all came to this amazing catch....48cm of Mulloway...haha,terrible
That was to be it. Once again the Glenelg gave me a beating,makes the score about 12-5 in it's favour now,but I still love the place. They frustrate me the mulloway to the point where I want to keep going back til I conquer them once and for all,everytime i think I've got them sussed I have 2 bad trips. Pity its a 6 hour drive. Might go back in March and get one back on it,I'm due.

NYE me and the old man headed up to Eucembene. Turned my back on New Years eve this year,first time since I was 16,over the entire drinking scene,rather go fishing. Fourth time up to Eucembene for the year, loving getting up there since i come back from the NT, nice relaxing fishing,pity it's an 8 hour drive.
The reports were ordinary due to the water starting to get warm,but we still did alright.
The fish were really good quality this time ,most around the 2-2.5lb range. Got 28 rainbows,1 Brown.
Got a few on powerbait/mudeyes. Got a few on fly of an evening,though I lost more than I landed,but it was slower of an evening compared to 6 weeks back.
Trolling was good in the arvo's. The other campers got f all,that's bacause they use tassie's. Cottoned on to the secret weapon at easter,now I'm flogging them... small rebel crickhoppers flatlined,they are dynamite.They'll pull in 10-1 fish compared to other lures. If I didn't have them we'd get stuff all like the rest of them. Keep that our secret :wink:
The first arvo I went out for a troll and a storm was building ala the top end. Sent them into a craze smacking the crickhoppers every 30 seconds of trolling....had to use one rod,then the storm came and it was all over.

ImageImage
ImageImage

Might give it another crack at easter,the place is big enough to spread the crowds out unlike everywhere else that weekend

Well done picking up a mulloway at all Jonesy...Ive heard that it can take several nights to score..and sometimes even that doesnt bring a result.
Gibbo

Post by Gibbo »

Nice trout Jonesy :applause: :applause:
mate where did you stay when you where up there?
Went to Wagga for xmas and was going to go up to Eucumbene
but reports where it was,nt fishing well,and had heard Mulwala was doing well for large cod will post report soon
FISHING IS LIFE
----------------------

Ive fished the Glenelg a bit ,got inlaws that live nearby and as Jonesy says its a magic place,most of the Mulloway they get now are of the size Jonesys has but years gone by the old timers used to row old style clinker boats with live mullet in tow and get fish up around 80lb and theres some ripper photos in the Nelson pub near the mouth.there are landings and ramps spread out up along the river where you can camp(small fee) and launch a boat or fish from the jetty,my ladys grandfather had a shack on the river upstream but they were all pulled down by parks and wildlife years ago maybe because they were having too much of a good time :fubird:

You flat line trolling for those trout, have you made up a silencer for the tohatsu :grin:

Gibbo- Sayed at Buckendera. I wouldn't stay anywhere else now,been there the last 3 times and it's the best park there for fishing. Has good banks for bait/fly, the camping is wide open,cabins are cheap,staff friendly.
Mulwala is rat city. Now that it's 60cm you'd be lucky to get one keeper for the weekend,as it's about 1 in 8 that are over 60 there I reckon. Great spot but,could think of worse places to retire

Matt-yep as Max said they don't get the big one's anymore. Probably to do with Rocklands,and the lack of flow that comes down the river now days,making the mouth smaller perhaps. They still get big one's off the surf in that area,but not in the river. 41lb is the biggest in recent years.
They still get a good run of fish every now and then averaging 15-25lb sometimes,but not when I'm there....mine are usually 60-70cm,still good fun but,some of the runs you get from them are mind blowing,especially when your alseep and the tranquil estuary explodes into life in the middle of the night

Ponypuff- The tohatsu is a fish attractant. I pump salmonid feromones into the impellor and the trout just follow the boat around! Either that or the fact i run the lures at least 120 meters out the back.....takes about 20 seconds for the strike of the fish to travel up the line and register with the rod...