Budget Arse Fishing - Ipswich Style

Mr RiverBabe

Re: Budget Arse Fishing - Ipswich Style

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Yep definitely a lung fish. Caught heaps when I was a Kim including one that was bigger then myself. I dragged that bad boy home on my push bike only to get my ass kicked as apparently they were protected? But seen as though it was dead we made fish cakes and they were great! It was the last time I ever caught one actually.

As for the eel tailed Powertail you get down there. We used to eat them all the time and they were great. They called them Jew fish down there when I was younger.

Mr RiverBabe

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

I cannot believe this bl..dy forum now corrects p o w e r t a i l to PowerTail now.. You have got to be kidding me. Really just making up names for fish now?

it's always done it..... it's tongue in cheek.... :banghead:
luke79

Post by luke79 »

Long live the mighty Powertail!

Very entertaining posts!
Mr RiverBabe

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Never has on my computer till now. I used to have to type PowerTail if I wanted to stir poop. I feel ripped off.

Call em cobbler in WA. Salt water is silver cobbler :mrgreen:

p o w e r t a i l one word no space is Powertail same as it auto corrects most swear words frig cad poop haha never tried the c word before, what a silly cad I am

aaron you catch good fish whereever you are...well done mate. Used to hang out at colleges a lot....sharks head up there to rid themselves of parasites. Sometimes snorkelling there You would see lungfish......awesome prehistoric things....like saraoga.
Aaron G

Post by Aaron G »

Hey Lads,

The Lung fish was beautiful! Mum smoked it up too prehistoric perfection! :jester:

HELL NO! That ancient of ancients returned to the depths, were he belongs.
Come on Sheebs give us a little cred, i know im from ippy, but were not all swamp People LOL! Hey 2Rods :D
But in seriousness, I am Pretty sure there's a hefty fine for keeping one of these old boys, which is totally fair call.

I reckon due to all these fishing shows like IFISH, Mark Berg, Creek To Coast etc , more fisho's are getting on board with the Catching n Releasing.

Fish For the Future :D

Unfortunately time has run out, for chasing more Fish. Will definitely like to give spinner baits a go on toga back home in the N.T.
Itsinmeblood thanks for the tip off though... next time.

Yeah 2Rods, Ippy is were I started as a young fella catching gar and mullet under floats with bread. Turtles, perch, carp, Powertail, Bream and all those fun critters, gotta start some where :wink:
This is Were I think many a young fisho cuts his teeth.

Only heard of Black Bass in PNG Pech! Will have to google it up. How good would it be to fish for them there!
Must kill not being able to have a flick Sheebs!!!! :evil:

Olfart I am impressed, thatz some fancy ass scientific words yah got there LOL

Seano I think my pumping may be too seedy :P

Mud, you were once in Ippy! Small world. I had a crack at bull sharks, no luck. Locals reckon live bait was the go down at the Junction, or if you could a 'chunk' of eel. Gotta try and fish were ever you go... Im kicking myself i didn't try harder during basic training at Wagga Wagga for Rainbow Trouts at Tumut.
One place I want to visit for a holiday and fish is of course is the great barrier reef, man o man, i want to catch one of those Gigantic Trevallies.

Hears some final pics of the mighty Powertail coz you guys love em so much!
Aaron G

Post by Aaron G »

PB caught at Jewie Hole @ the Mouth of the Adelaide on Blue Salmon Stip Bait LOL

LONG LIVE THE POWERTAIL!!!
Sheeby

Post by Sheeby »

Nice one man. We're all waiting for that video :D
SteveB

Post by SteveB »

That's a big powertail! Bet you got some nice sized tasty fillets of that one,
The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb

kev

Post by kev »

Mate that looks like a load of fun :)

Horse!