Foton 4WD coming to town

Re: Foton 4WD coming to town

Whats wrong with a chinese tractor? The only problem is sometimes the grease nipples are different from model to model :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

And watch out for the emissions :D
skinny joel

Post by skinny joel »

Matt Flynn wrote:If you took everything out of Australia that had more than two Chinese moving parts the nation would come to an immediate standstill, probably including the ADF :lol:
austrain small arms
belgium machine gun
american artillery
british light vehicles
and yes heaps and heaps of chinese parts.
i believe chinese cars will be leading the 4wd industry very shortly,
and all the people poo pooing them will be just like the olden time ppl yester year who poo pooed japanese cars.
watch this space is all i can advise.
human guppy
darwinguy

Post by darwinguy »

cr.p cars and 4wd, they don't hold a light to the Jap ones for quality or reliability

As others have stated, they said the same about Japanese stuff early on.

Will be good to hear from people who have driven/owned them.

everyone will be checking them out when they r parked at the boat ramp!!!! lol

Boat ramp is the only place many of them get to use 4WD :mrgreen:
Dundee Hombre

Post by Dundee Hombre »

I'm whith darwinguy, I drove one of those Great Wall 4wd on Groote this week, it was gutless and handled poorly just on gravel too. It used considerable fuel. Give me a Hilux anyday
daleywaters

Post by daleywaters »

They may be cr.p now but remember the cars Honda used to produce? The original Civic was a piece of garbage, the Zot was abysmal. 10-15 years time the Chinese might be world-leaders in 4wd. Or still in a civil war after the economy collapses...
Regards,

Dale

Carpe Jugulum!

Let's not forget we are talking about a different brand here, I assume Great Wall and Foton are not the same.

I test drove a Great Wall 4WD sedan a while back, it lacked power but it handled OK. What it did have was an incredible feature set - electric adjustable seats etc. If they can gradually improve power, handling and safety, and show acceptable durability, they will win the market. I have heard stories about rust - but that just reminds me of the old Valiant days, Hey Charger! haha.

You have to wonder though why they would choose a second-rate engine? Fuel economy reports have not been particularly good.

I wonder how many Hemi 265s are still kicking around??

Matt Flynn wrote:Let's not forget we are talking about a different brand here, I assume Great Wall and Foton are not the same.

I test drove a Great Wall 4WD sedan a while back, it lacked power but it handled OK. What it did have was an incredible feature set - electric adjustable seats etc. If they can gradually improve power, handling and safety, and show acceptable durability, they will win the market. I have heard stories about rust - but that just reminds me of the old Valiant days, Hey Charger! haha.

You have to wonder though why they would choose a second-rate engine? Fuel economy reports have not been particularly good.

I wonder how many Hemi 265s are still kicking around??

Plenty. I have a couple. Only 1 of them is in a charger though.

That's it the old Valiant, what a ripper!

My first car was dad's old Valiant ute with 225 slant 6, had a bit of power too, unfortunately the back rusted out from me loading and unloading my first dinghy into and out of it, didn't have a trailer, fishing in the Swan River mainly, catching Kingies (Mulloway)

Poor old thing, got $250 for it when I traded it in on the Torana :)

My father had the 245 Hemi Charger XL. He almost bought a secondhand RT 265 as a family car. Glad he didn't, we probably wouldn't be here if he did, even in the 245 I remember him saying on a fishing trip 'hey look, we are doing 100mph!' :lol:

Mum hated the clutch, too heavy.

The back of Chargers used to rust around the boot, I think most were written off before they rusted. Great engines!