Darwin Harbour weird fish

Thought I'd start taking some pics of the good, the bad and the ugly.

Started looking at spots I'd marked but never fished before and won't go near some again as they are delicate coral reefs that hold a lot of odd looking critters. I snagged and pulled up some of the most colourful corals I've ever seen.

Re: Darwin Harbour weird fish

Harbour is an amazing place, some of the corals quite unusual apparently, having to survive in alternately clear and turbid water.

Screen shot from yesterday's trip too.

It is, from one angle.

The first time I've bothered to fish it but the tides were okay for a crack yesterday

A Cod and a Black Spot Tusky about 2.5kg each fed us for dinner.

Broke protocol by naming your spot, apologies. Post deleted :D

It's a freak show

Harbour might even be healthier these days now that Larrakeyah isn't pumping raw sewage 24/7

It's pretty healthy I reckon.

I've always been surprised that not too many fish that spot but trying to get anchor is fun. We dropped 30m past it and landed right on top after the anchor dragged slowly.

Arrived at the first spot on the runout on Saturday with a few boofs and bust ups happening.

Perfect conditions so we anchored and within 10 minutes it all went strangely quiet then we saw why.

I was a bit slow getting the phone for pics as I was sort of mesmerised at what looked like a dolphin with a Sting ray in its mouth!

Turned out to be a Manta ray at least 6' wide herding bait fish. Small schools about 2' wide of 1" fish bubbling and skipping in between its cephalic fins before it inhaled them in less than a metre of water!

Awesome to witness but he wasn't there for the Barra like we were and everything disappeared.

A love hate relationship for sure. :roll:

Nice photo's mate...good stuff.

Dropped a 60 or 70 today then got this next cast :evil:

15 inch Starry Puffer about 1.2kg caught last Saturday.
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

It’s crazy what pops up ninja fish was around that area where you saw the manga rat couple months back found queenies everywhere was trolling in 2m of water stepdaughter hooks up and pulled up a grey Mack
al57

Post by al57 »

very weird spot that area
Yorkie

Post by Yorkie »

NinjaFish wrote:Arrived at the first spot on the runout on Saturday with a few boofs and bust ups happening.

Perfect conditions so we anchored and within 10 minutes it all went strangely quiet then we saw why.

I was a bit slow getting the phone for pics as I was sort of mesmerised at what looked like a dolphin with a Sting ray in its mouth!

Turned out to be a Manta ray at least 6' wide herding bait fish. Small schools about 2' wide of 1" fish bubbling and skipping in between its cephalic fins before it inhaled them in less than a metre of water!

Awesome to witness but he wasn't there for the Barra like we were and everything disappeared.

A love hate relationship for sure. :roll:
Was that near talc head, I had a manta go past me while flicking lures on woods side
, heaps of small prawns (assuming jelly?) and it was scooping them up.