Salvage effort for boat sunk near Bateman's

Re: Salvage effort for boat sunk near Bateman's

OK here's whos in atm-
Agent 86
Tangels
Bellfish
Fish 4me123
Myself and a small crew of mates
If your on this list all relevant details regarding the meeting will be sent asap
If your not on the list just pm me if interested and can make it on weekend. Think we are planning on leaving early sat morning back Sunday arvo.
That makes three boats and by my estimate 10 guys able to go already. Think one more boat would do it and it would only be a support role wouldn't be much towing if any.

Ime out mate, ime working like usual :banghead:

Im in as long as i can sort a few things my end by tomorrow.
i plan on heading down early sat
smellbournian

Post by smellbournian »

Has anyone driven to channel point before? I'm looking at driving down with the boat trailer, and was just wondering about the distance to decide if I need to take jerry cans with extra fuel for the car

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah driven there a few times smellbournian, can go via Batchelor and get fuel there on the way back if needed

can go through Litchfield Park as well from this side as well, just not sure what the road is like at the moment.
you have to get a key to get in there though, and organise this from the parks and wildlife office in Palmerston, have you done this yet?
otherwise cant get to the ramp.

If you drive out there early Sat, someone could pick you up from the ramp easily I'm sure.

smellbournian wrote:Has anyone driven to channel point before? I'm looking at driving down with the boat trailer, and was just wondering about the distance to decide if I need to take jerry cans with extra fuel for the car

Have you organised a key / permit. Jump on line, or better yet go in and see them at Palmerston in the Goyder building, I'm sure they will unserstand and help out as best as they can. Not 100 % sure if it is still open for the year, best to go see them I reckon as it is late notice. They need to give you a key for the gate.
smellbournian

Post by smellbournian »

Gday mick and agent 86, I gave em a call and it's all good. I just need to visit them at houser building and get the keys. I'm hoping the boys will be willing to pick me up from the ramp for our mission!

wouldnt hurt to bring a hand held vhf as well to call up the boats

yeah good idea nomad, someone must have one that can be brought along to the Channel Point boat ramp

I have a hand held uhf if old mate has one in his car. If no one has a vhf they they can lend
smellbournian

Post by smellbournian »

I have a sat phone which I'll be bringing along. Will anyone else have one? I'll buy a another vhf (hand held) lost mine in the boat! The hire car I'm getting has a uhf so it'd be good if u could bring your hand held along mickkk

yeah I have a satphone I always take that.

just for info guys, the exact location I got on my GPS when next to the upturned boat was S 13deg 13'855 E 129deg 54'774

cheers 86

Just be careful when you try to up-right it at sea. The positive bouyancy of the sealed deck and the negative of the water on the unsealed bit will keep it rolling over. I think it is gonna be a better idea to tow it to the sand bar and dry it out using the tide. A cum along winch and a couple of anchors would also be handy to manouvre it on land. If getting in the water think about box Jellyfish. They have been bad lately. A stinger suit should be worn. Crocs also frequint the island so keep a good look out as well.
Fogazi

Post by Fogazi »

And some one take plenty of photos and document what goes on. Would be great to read and something to look back on if and when something like this happens again to someone else.

Sent from my SM-N910G using Tapatalk

Nomad if you need a hand getting anything ready to go on the boat let me know mate.
So where we meeting boys?
I'm in leanyer and agent 86 in Humpty doo so we are spread out a bit. Somewhere in palmy?