Hi Guys,
New here and want to get out and about and enjoy some fishing with my 3 boys.I dragged my 5.6m quintrex from central QLD.Just joined the forum and want to pick your brains for advice etc to make my time up here memorable.
edo :catch:

Re: Newbie

Welcome mate...

Have fun getting out there amongst it...!!

cheers mate

Gday Edo
Welcome mate , lots of good info on here . A lot of stuff can be
found using search , get yourself the FFF book its a big help ,

jeff

2nd what Jeffish said about the FFF book. Plus there are a few good mags with very helpful stories in them from time to time, like Northern Australia Fishing Annual, BBB and North Australia Fishing Mag. Even Tales from the Tinny ABC Radio Saturday 5-7am 105.7 is a good source of information at times. At least you will get a laugh if nothing else. Good luck with the fishing. It takes a long time to figure this place out

thanks fellas, main objective is to get out on the water,have some fun and get a few muddies and catch a few barra,my boys only think there is one fish in the water up here and i want to make sure i can put them onto a barra.
So you dont need you boat registered here is that correct?, just your trailer? and does your trailer have to go over the pits each year for road worthy?, my boat and trailer are both 98 models, not sure if that makes a difference or not.And i can have a few beers on the water without being breatho'd, is this right?.

oh....................what is this FFF book you guys are talking about?

Book should be in most news agents and tackle stores. It's full of maps and info. Correct, no boat rego. Not sure about trailer inspections

got the book on the weekend,looking forward to getting out on the water now
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

Edo wrote:thanks fellas, main objective is to get out on the water,have some fun and get a few muddies and catch a few barra,my boys only think there is one fish in the water up here and i want to make sure i can put them onto a barra.
So you dont need you boat registered here is that correct?, just your trailer? and does your trailer have to go over the pits each year for road worthy?, my boat and trailer are both 98 models, not sure if that makes a difference or not.And i can have a few beers on the water without being breatho'd, is this right?.
No rego, no licence, no breatho on the water (for now). Trailer will be inspected when you change over to NT rego. Not sure on the frequency after that but as no one seem to know it must not be that often.

thanks for the info Fish Tank,
ime used to having a .05 limit in place on the water coming from XXXXLAND so i wont be hittin the sauce to hard when ime out and about but it is good to know if i want to camp in my boat for the night that i can get stuck into a bottle of rum when ime anchored up some where safe and sound.
cheerz Edo

Fish Tank wrote:
Edo wrote:thanks fellas, main objective is to get out on the water,have some fun and get a few muddies and catch a few barra,my boys only think there is one fish in the water up here and i want to make sure i can put them onto a barra.
No rego, no licence, no breatho on the water (for now). Trailer will be inspected when you change over to NT rego. Not sure on the frequency after that but as no one seem to know it must not be that often.
Welcome mate, re trailers.. pretty sure only braked trailers need regular inspections.
The rest as 'Fish tank' said.
The guys at MVR will fill you in. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the welcome olfart, is there a VMR i can join up here?
Was a member in Gladstone and wouldnt mind knowing there is some one not far away on radio if i come unstuck.

MVR = http://www.transport.nt.gov.au/mvr/mvr-contacts

the fishfinder book is called the bible and get it any tackle shop

Thanks Nomad but i meant the VMR, the Voluntary Marine Rescue,does darwin have a branch?