Bynoe Jewies 25/26th Simms reef

Gday All
I was heading out on the blue hoping to fish around Bass reef weds night ,but the weather
wasn't to good out past Charles pt so I went to plan B and headed into Bynoe to find some
shelter in behind the islands. I haven't fished Bynoe in this boat so didn't really have any marks
to go off except the FFF marks . After looking around a bit I decided to head into Simms reef as
it looked like good ground and some shelter.
027.JPG
028.JPG
There where plenty of good drop offs and deep water around but very little showing on the sounder.
I was only catching small MF's (matt flynns catfisss)
034.JPG

So I made a move out into deeper water where I was hoping for some gold or even a Jew
035.JPG
But not much happened fish wise for the rest of the night. In the morning I made a couple of moves
and ended about 2km from Simms on a shallow patch showing some very big arches on the sounder.
I changed my rigs to big 10/0 circles with cock in the sock big baits ,,,bag fish on !!!!
The first Jewie was about 60cm and I let it go as I was only in 28ft of water and there wher bigger
fish to be had and not long after saw nice 90+ :D . As I was dealing with him my second rod stats
screaming with a long powerful run up near the surface I was thinking shark ,but no another good
jewie comes on board ,very nice 103cm.
042.JPG
043.JPG
046.JPG
Wow what a great little session I caught 2 more smaller ones all lip hooked and released .
I wanted to stay cause its so hard to leave a hot bite , but had my bag limit so time for
home before the arvo winds kicked in.
On the way out of Bynoe I tried one more FFF mark In hope of goldie,and glad I did
049.JPG
I ended up with 3 goldies all around the same size , and all up a good trip home thinking about my
next visit to Simms reef 8) 8) 8) Pays to have a plan B :D

jeff

Trev&Tara

Re: Bynoe Jewies 25/26th Simms reef

Post by Trev&Tara »

Nice fish mate, did you launch at 6 pack Ck.

No Trev I came out of Darwin, the barcrusher's a bit big for six pack I think.

Trev&Tara wrote:Nice fish mate, did you launch at 6 pack Ck.
I've not used 6 pack and I was solo this trip . Do you use it and would I be able
to get a heavy 6mt in and out of there ?

Good table fish Jeff,it doesn't matter where you end up so long as you catch a feed
Well done
steve29

Post by steve29 »

Some good looking fish mate not a bad night at all

Not bad for a plan B!!
callmejoe

Post by callmejoe »

Jealous just a little.
It costs nothing to smile.

jeffish wrote:No Trev I came out of Darwin, the barcrusher's a bit big for six pack I think.
Definitely on your own Jeff but with a car and a boat driver six pack is a breeze, no problems at all so far. I launch the 8.5 meter boat there down to about 4.5 meters of water retrieve about the same but it can run a bit on that corner when driving on, just leave the driver in the car on the brake when retrieving.

thanks for the info Andy . Often wondered about launching there,cheers

nice fish Jeff

well done on the jewies and gold again

might head that way on the weekend depending on the weather.

Agent86 wrote:nice fish Jeff

well done on the jewies and gold again

might head that way on the weekend depending on the weather.
Keep me posted with your expert opinion on the weather I haven't had one of those Armageddon storms yet this (or last year), but was thinking of a run on the neaps.

no worries AM

will have to take the old girl Rascal II if I go, she needs a run

New boat is in the shop :-)

If your going boys give Simms a good look ,I reckon it might fire up a bit with some clean water.
Scamper

Post by Scamper »

well done, nice catch