Shady Barrage - Things other than metre barra.

CharFin

Shady Barrage - Things other than metre barra.

Post by CharFin »

Left the boat at home and thought I would have a flick off the Shady barrage. We got no Barras. Only saw three small ones landed at the barrage. One boat of the 4-5 trailers in the carpark came back and filleted about 3 around the 70s, I think. I did get a Powertail that was uglier than usual. Looked like it had tried to kiss a shark at one point in it's life. Couple of jabiru's were slipping and sliding their gangly legs but somehow didn't end up in the drink. Boys in blue came down in their unmarked ute and checked out what everyone was doing, no problems there and left. Well after high tide a 6.6m offshore somethinny went to retrieve, I thought this will be interesting but they did it without too much fuss. Just went on the left side towards the barrage, as a lump was sticking of the water where most people launch. On the way home we come across a buff that was living dangerously, didn't even flinch we we pulled up next to it.

Re: Shady Barrage - Things other than metre barra.

That cat looks like it had it's lips ripped off.
See any other cats down there, heard there's a lion
on the lose,,, cool pics :mrgreen:
callmejoe

Post by callmejoe »

Well there you go... I saw the same moo moo.....
But 15min fishing at the barrage. 1 medium size rat. (1st every landed).
Another 15min and 1 just legal barramundi on it way to my dinner table.
So I was just a little happy.
Ps sorry to the other fella's who had been there for some time b4 I arrived and left there.
But all in a day out.
Joe
It costs nothing to smile.

Helpful pics, thanks

Bad luck about the barra.
Thanks for the pics mate... I heading there Thursday morning and very nervous about the launch.

Can you tell at what stage of the tide the first pic was taken.

Hoping to launch my 6 m Thursdays 3 hours after the 6.6 m high tide.
CharFin

Post by CharFin »

Boat ramp pic was taken at 1:37pm. It dropped a fair bit after that.

balou wrote:Bad luck about the barra.
Thanks for the pics mate... I heading there Thursday morning and very nervous about the launch.

Can you tell at what stage of the tide the first pic was taken.

Hoping to launch my 6 m Thursdays 3 hours after the 6.6 m high tide.
Just launch on the fresh and hit the barrage at full noise up on the plane. Looks plenary deep enough, what could go wrong haha.

I will be in the same boat next Sunday, hopefully we get a bit more rain to fill it a little more

Thanks mate.

Micky the launching is the easy bit... 200m from the ramp is the headache

I was there on Saturday. you wouldnt want to launch too much after the high tide.
when the water does start to fall away it happens very quickly.
3 hours after the high may be pushing it.
we were only in a 4.2m tinny and had no worries on the weekend.
put in about 10:00 - pulled out around 2:30.
the water was the lowest its ever been for retriving for us.
i wouldnt of wanted to be in a bigger boat would of been touch and go.

Haha, gross powertail!

BarraMick wrote:I was there on Saturday. you wouldnt want to launch too much after the high tide.
when the water does start to fall away it happens very quickly.
3 hours after the high may be pushing it.
we were only in a 4.2m tinny and had no worries on the weekend.
put in about 10:00 - pulled out around 2:30.
the water was the lowest its ever been for retriving for us.
i wouldnt of wanted to be in a bigger boat would of been touch and go.
Now I'm totally confused... My mate fish shady last weekend and could launch his 5.5 platey just before low as he reckon there was a lot of fresh coming over the barrage.

Sorry thread hijack!

from week to week wouldn't it be different??? I,m no expert but
with no rain and then rain surely it's gotta change each tide ???????

sounds like pot luck sometimes