2 nights and day in Darwin. Where to go? Recommend a guide?

DJ_m

2 nights and day in Darwin. Where to go? Recommend a guide?

Post by DJ_m »

Hello northern fishing friends,
I have a trip planned to the Territory from 14th-20th March. Early on Monday 16th I am flying up to Arnhemland for four days barra fishing with perhaps a trip or two to some inshore reefs during that trip. I have from about lunchtime on the Saturday until the Sunday evening with no plans. Am thinking of a bit of sightseeing on the Saturday arvo, just wander around as not been to Darwin before. This leaves me the Sunday totally free, may as well get another days fishing in and warm up the casting arm!
Are there good land based options walking distance from the city centre or waterside (have not booked a hotel yet)? I could book on a charter which is a possibility but I'm not that keen on dangling a line with 20 people. Are there any reasonably priced guides that will do a half or full day with just me or put me on a trip with a couple of others? I don't really want to do a long drive as need to be up crack of dawn Monday to get a flight and straight on the water that morning so want to be reasonable fresh - somewhere around Darwin would be ideal.
Any recommendations would be appreciated. In terms of gear, I'll have with me a 4-6kg Baitcaster (20lb braid) and 6-8kg spin rod (30lb braid) with a ton of lures so should be good for most of the inshore species? Lure fishing the creeks would be preferable to the blue water but am open and appreciative of any suggestions.
Cheers all and looking forward to seeing some of the Territory.
Darryl.

alfie

Re: 2 nights and day in Darwin. Where to go? Recommend a gui

Post by alfie »

G'day mate, not sure where you intend in staying but if you end up in the city. Your pretty close to water and if your after a charter and no one here can suggest any better ideas. I would suggest waiting till you get here and go to the info booth on Mitchell street and try to get on one then, if they have any spare spots as the weather may not be on your side and tide will play a big part. A good place to go for a sight see on Sat arvo would be the waterfront area or Cullen bay, both are around half hour or so walk depending on where you staying in the city. Depending on the tides, would probably be adviseable to bring a rod to either spot (deck chair cinema neR the waterfront or rock wall at the end of Cullen bay), best on the incoming. Hope I was a little help. Good luck on your fishing adventures. Cheers
Good judgement is learnt through experience.
Experience is learnt through bad judgement.

Try Darwin Barra and crab. Ringy Specialises in half day trips. Not sure he will run with one person but may be able to organise a couple of others. Fishes Darwin harbor and usually stumbles on the odd fish. 0427522764.

If not the Darwin foreshore is only 10 minutes walk from most of the city. Try doing a land based search on the forum. It will have lots of options in it.
DJ_m

Post by DJ_m »

Thanks guys. Darwin Barra & Crab only do extended trips that time of year. I have a few others I can call otherwise I might just take a wander which will be fine given I have 4 days on a boat from the Monday. I'll search the previous land based topics for some ideas.
Thanks again.
Darryl.
jonr

Post by jonr »

I would check out Bob from shoal bay sports fishing. -he gots good fish and will take you on your own or add you to another group if they are not full.

You want to catch fish, Trevor Robb Darwin Barra fishing. One of the best fisherman in the NT.
morrinmoss

Post by morrinmoss »

Yes I agree, I go up each year and get Trev from Darwin Sportfishing, he is spot on !