Stonker Chinaman!

Got this beast a few weeks ago wide of Dundee. Went 19lbs. Caught on my little Daiwa infinity 3000, 20lb braid. Nearly killed me, hungover first thing in the morning! :drinking5: also got three big trout and a cobia, all on the light gear on gulps. Great little session.

Released the big Chinaman, but got a couple of smaller ones. Has anyone eaten them from out that way? I know they are a ciguatera risk, but are they ok from there? Might test on the neighbours cat! :twisted:

Re: Stonker Chinaman!

Dont all chinamen have the ciga virus

Not worth the risk I reckon.

seano wrote:Not worth the risk I reckon.
That's what I'm thinking, plenty of other fillets in the freezer.

blw wrote:Dont all chinamen have the ciga virus
Wouldn't be surprised if it's a locality issue rather than a species one. When I was in the Maldives they eat Red Bass all the time. They had never heard of the ciguatera toxin. But as mentioned before, I wouldn't take the risk in OZ

Great fish mate specially on light gear.

I have read they are good to eat in the N.T but I would not risk it .

Nice mate , big fight on the light gear :mrgreen:

A ripper Scottmac

The toxin is said to be localised to areas of hard bodied corals more then the soft ones that we have. Hasn't been many cases reported any where near Darwin itself but is pretty common around gove and places over towards the eastern edge of the Territory. I don't eat them but know people who have. Its a shame as around the northern edge of Bathurst you get hundreds of them.

cuddlescooper wrote:The toxin is said to be localised to areas of hard bodied corals more then the soft ones that we have. Hasn't been many cases reported any where near Darwin itself but is pretty common around gove and places over towards the eastern edge of the Territory. I don't eat them but know people who have. Its a shame as around the northern edge of Bathurst you get hundreds of them.
How big do you reckon they get Peter.

Got my first chinaman the other day with Cuddles - surprised how had they go, we got three on one drop.

Mate they are ripper fish, well done!

Nice fish mate. Great for a photo, but I wouldn't risk eating it. Well done :applause:

seano wrote:Got my first chinaman the other day with Cuddles - surprised how had they go, we got three on one drop.
Not those little fellas.... how big do the really get though when they grow up.
Territory_Tuff

Post by Territory_Tuff »

Stonker alright!