12th Annual Reel Women Barra Classic (17 & 18 May)

Public and private club events - results and battle stories. And any other club news ...
Anglers Choice

12th Annual Reel Women Barra Classic (17 & 18 May)

Post by Anglers Choice »

200 ladies, a total of 50 teams, will arrive at Dundee Beach today for the official meet & greet welcome function & briefing. The unique event allows for ladies to have a male skipper on board but also allows ladies to register as an independent team of ladies only. 25 teams have entered as all female teams with 25 choosing to have a male skipper on board to allow them to relax and enjoy the day (and a coldie) without having to navigate the boat.

The fishng days are Friday and Saturday with the official presentation on Saturday night.

Plenty of prizes are up for grabs including $5000 for Champion Angler.

We will post results at the end of each day and keep the FFF members updated.

biggles

Re: 12th Annual Reel Women Barra Classic (17 & 18 May)

Post by biggles »

Last years winners off to a good start.....

Biggles

Hey, that's a fake blonde!

only joking, might be a reel one ...
biggles

Post by biggles »

Look closer and you will see its all reel.....

Biggles
drifter

Post by drifter »

Anglers Choice wrote: We will post results at the end of each day and keep the FFF members updated.
What... no fish caught??

I believe the BigFish Graphics Barra Maids were in 1st place as of last night - not sure on any other results though sorry. :)

They must be doing ok cause no updates?

They might be having big nights and reports take a back seat :drinking2: :drinking1:

I know they were all full of bad manners at the boat ramp couple of shielas trying to fight a dude on the beach arguing about who was next and who had been waiting the longest :) made for a good laugh waiting I was last boat out at 9pm last night !
hottuna

Post by hottuna »

From memory the Barra Maids took it out as Champion Team overall and also Champion Independent. Great effort from the all girl team. Dani from their team took out Champion Angler. Longest fish was 92, name escapes me though. Overall it was a great weekend, and even with a bit of a wait at the tractor most people just rafted up and started the party early
Bluewater Dreamin'

Anglers Choice wrote:

We will post results at the end of each day and keep the FFF members updated.
Didnt say which day :rofl:

There would certainly be a few sore heads thats for shaw. Dough I cant believe you waited 3 - 4 hours to get out, hope you had enough beer, is that with 2 tractors working? AFANT or the Govt or someone needs to put a big breakwall/ramp there so we can all use it and retrieve n launch in less than 3 hours. Just my opinion.

I was lucky they pulled us out at all I made a mad dash back to the ramp as I cancelled plans to stay over night again and made it to the ramp just before 6 there was one of my mates who got there at 445 and he was the 3rd last boat out he waited along time I was last out cos I beach launched te night before my self and had to go up and in hook trailer and put it in line originally they weren't going to pull me out at all so we nearly headed back out fishing ;)
Yeah something needs to be done or just someone with decent gear and a bit of commonsense to run it and it will be good !

Might as well hijack this thread, as no results forthcoming. Any sails Doug?

Started sail wide exporting clean blue water but as the sun come up it was green !
Fair bit of bait and tuna but worke it for 3 hours for nothing maybe one but not 100%
So pulled pin at 10 and headed in to witches nose on the way there heard someone on the radio mention they caught one got to witches nose area and had 2 up in about half hour mate missed his and te rigger clip didn't release on mine and kept pulling bait of of sails mouth till he shied off ! Then headed north about 5km an found a few there for arvo tide had a double on and my fish jumped before I could set hook and my mates line got pinged off bye another sail after we cleared all the gear :(
Missed a few just with mates trying to get them onto there first
But went 7-1-0 reckon we seen 10 or more few free swimmers baling up flying fish !