barotrauma in snapper

Put fishing videos only here, general videos have a another forum below.
mullet93

barotrauma in snapper

Post by mullet93 »

Dont know if it has been posted yet but saw this today and found it pretty interesting the different affects it has at certain depths.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... -1n4YZNaSY#!

doors off

Re: barotrauma in snapper

Post by doors off »

Excellent video that will fall upon deaf ears in many cases. I wonder how those deep release weight systems effect the survival rate? :|

Stupid Hammerhead! :bonk:

Doors Off
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

We had Kane and Thor at the club one night to explain the issue. Heaps of people just ignored what was said
pity they didnt have the video then

ive said for ages that the fish that return to the bottom and show any signs of stress will be smashed by toothy critters very quickly

Yep, that's why the population of big toothy critters is increasing lots

Eg Lemons :-)

Niglet

Post by Niglet »

very interesting. not that I can catch them haha

You cant really augue about those results with snapper, and very good on the NT guys for undertaking a conclusive test. It would be good when funding permits to do a study on some other reef speices, (not jew that seems a no brainer). A run down on how they test this would be interesting ie is the cage right where the fish were caught how long from catch to cage. I am not interested in a sceptical way I am just imagining the logistics of doing this with a fair sample at the various depths, and the effort they have put in to do the test. Good on em for doing it and its case closed for me with snapper, time for a 3 - 4 year proabition on taking them, that with help with them being targeted at least.
Toxic

Post by Toxic »

When you see them swimming like that, you realise that they would get nailed before they even got near the bottom. No chance

AM wrote:when funding permits
The sooner we as fishos realise that $ have to come from somewhere the better. Boat rego and fishing licences would drag in heaps of money.
Then again, knowing Territorians, they wouldnt pay :twisted:

nomad wrote:
The sooner we as fishos realise that $ have to come from somewhere the better. Boat rego and fishing licences would drag in heaps of money.
I agree with the funding
stratergy, enjoy fraser.

nomad wrote:
No the money would end up in others pockets and not going towards fishing research and management.

Seems that only two groups of people get funding in the NT. :banghead:

AM, I hope I remember the trip :drinking4:

Cuddles
In Tassie, you get to nominate where your fees are spent. It really works down there with a small population (about twice that of the NT)
Fishing licence goes to fisheries reaserch and restocking
Boat licences go to infrastructure like ramps. The ramps down there would cost 1/10 the cost up here but every bit counts.
Anyway, i applaud the fisheries for trying to get the message out :clap:

Does a Barra have snappotrauma?

SUSIE Q wrote:Does a Barra have snappotrauma?
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: