Dundee area 22 Mar 13

uniball

Dundee area 22 Mar 13

Post by uniball »

G'day all,

Was way to sick to go to work yesterday, so we loaded the boat up and headed to Dundee. After reading all the reports and getting some very handy info from Swoffa and George (thanks a million dudes), we were the forth boat in and headed towards sail city. As we neared bowra shoals, small schools of tuna started to bust up and temptation got the best of me. All the schools were extremely flighty so we sounded around to find any bait balls down deep. The old man (DNO62) sent a jig into a small blob on the sounder and was rewarded with a nice little mac of about 90cm. We set up a trolling spread for macks out the back as we neared some other small tuna schools. One of the lads had a brief hook up on a small tuna that hit a small gillies jig, before the deep diving lure out the back got smashed. After a short but spirited fight, a 104cm spainiard was gaffed.

A few more passes over the area returned nothing but strikes, so we pushed on to sail city. We started a troll run at one of swoffas marks and marked any points of interest as we moved around the area. No luck trolling, so we went searching for a drift run over some of the new points. Found a good run with some nice bait balls and started jigging. The next few hours were pandemonium with fish constantly coming over the side. Lots of trevally, macks and some mixed reefies in the mix made for one of the best jigging trips I've been on. We headed back to Dundee at about 3pm with sore arms and big smiles. Can't wait to do it again!

mullet93

Re: Dundee area 22 Mar 13

Post by mullet93 »

Good stuff 8)
Nice weather and top fish :mrgreen:
Timbo

Post by Timbo »

I love those trips, keeps you going back for more!!!
Failure is only an event, Not a lifestyle

Awesome fish lads. Thanks for the trip report.

Good stuff....great to see that you got amongst them.

well done, can't beat jigging in weather like that

might have to get down there soon

great report :-)

natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

Looks like the two midweek trips too the daly
Would have been better spent out in the blue
Great days fishin by the looks
Well done
When I grow up I can't wait to be a grown up...........
uniball

Post by uniball »

Was a brilliant trip. Had to come home early unfortunately. Wish we stayed the night.

Although, the arms and shoulders were a bit stiff this morning :)
uniball

Post by uniball »

Once again, cheers swoffa. If you hadn't given me those marks, I wouldn't have taken the guys down that far. You are a legend!
Sponge

Post by Sponge »

Great stuff, some nice fish well done

top report mate,seems like trevs and macks everywhere this w/end :mrgreen:

good stuff :fishing:
DNO62

Post by DNO62 »

Thanks for the day out Uniball, days like that could almost convert this old Barra troll mole into a blue water jigger.

15 different species; pb Queenie for you; pb Mack for me; first Tuna for me; first Coral Trout for Metzy; yep I reckon we did alright :D :D :D

My forearms are still sore from those bl..dy Trevs, sore in a nice sort of a way though. :cheers:

Well done fellas sounds like cracking trip.

Great report mate. Sound like an amazing dundee trip.