my summer on the gold coast

chrisoo

my summer on the gold coast

Post by chrisoo »

Hey fellas , I understand this is a site based for Darwin fisherman but i love my fishing as much as you boys so thought I'd share a summer here on the gold coast .., this was my first season chasing mangrove jacks in the canals of the gold coast , they are littered with rockwalls,pontoons, bridges , rocky reefy bottoms & healthy current , which make it perfect jack country .. My season started in september and is coming to a close in a month or so .. I fish from a kayak which has it's ups and downs but allows me to hit constant structure rather then land based , it's been a frustrating season with many epic bust offs and alot of donouts in between .. I also was lucky enough to land my first gold coast barra , they are starting to make a name for them selves here with many caught this season , anyway fellas here's a few pics of my summer

tucker85

Re: my summer on the gold coast

Post by tucker85 »

Looks like a good summer mate, well done!
'Tight Lines!'

Great stuff Chrissoo, jack's are th ducksnuts for me. Mongrel fighters and tops on the plate. :clap:
I don't think of th Forum as a darwin thing, people post from all over the country, that's what makes it so good. :)
Look forward to some more of your adventures from down there. :mrgreen:
graham.

Good stuff

I caught a Tarpon at Bynoe on the weekend about the size of yours. Have to say it fought much harder than any of the barra we caught on the same trip.

Ghound
Lumborghini

Post by Lumborghini »

Where do you get barra on the gold coast?
Lumbo,

If i'm too drunk to walk I'll rock the party on crutches...
Old Mate

Post by Old Mate »

:clap: Some great fish :clap:

Great fish! That jack is massive

some good sized jacks there!

nice Giant Herring as well, they give you curry!!

great stuff :mrgreen:

Mickfly

Post by Mickfly »

Looks like you had a great summer's fishing. I had New Years down that way......caught zip :|
chrisoo

Post by chrisoo »

Cheers fellas , appreciate the kind words ... That was the 2nd barra I hooked down here on the goldy ,the first one smashed a topwater lure and ended up rasping up my 20lb leader after a few jumps and I lost it .. The one pictured was caught in the same spot on a luckycraft bevy shad a couple of nights later

Some nice fish there, when I picture fishing on the goldy I think of strippers retiring leaders, grabbing beer from the esky and netting your fish.

Welcome Chrissoo
Good fish there.
Re the Darwin thing, there is even a bloke from Tassie somewhere :rofl:
chrisoo

Post by chrisoo »

Ben Jam wrote:Some nice fish there, when I picture fishing on the goldy I think of strippers retiring leaders, grabbing beer from the esky and netting your fish.

haha i wish mate :mrgreen:

great stuff reading abt the sunny coast....top fishing