The best fridge for the boat

Want to install a fridge in my boat.
What do you use.
Engles look good and have a good rep but are steel is rust an issue
Waeko,s also have a geed rep but are plastic is cracking an issue
How well do they handle the pounding in rough water.
Will be installing a 40 lt.
Any tipps

TNS1

Post by TNS1 »

Engel do a robust plastic version as well.

Re: The best fridge for the boat

I've been using an evakool fridgemate for a few years now, awesome tough fridges it's been belted over some rough roads strapped in the back of a ute and in the tinny and never missed a beat, at home it lives out the back running non stop as my beer fridge all poly construction aussie made with a danfoss compressor and pretty low power consumption, only draw back is the smallest they do is 55lt, actually they have a 40lt in white fibreglass now
thanks for the post had a look to get the link... http://www.evakool.com/products?scat=3 and scored a 50lt esky for the boat for $99 :D

You can get plastic shell engles that's what I'd get

Dont reckon youd have problems with the bumps in the boat with an Engel we carted one around the Kimberlys ,Gulf & Cape on some pretty ordinary roads & its still going strong 20 yrs later :mrgreen: but definately get the plastic jobby for the boat .
barratrooper1

Post by barratrooper1 »

I'm using a stainless steel primus. its been great so far, draws very little power, .73 amps per hour when set at 3 deg. minèis 60 LT, and I have a duel battery set up, with 100 amp hybrid marine battery. it has never run flat yet, longest trip I've done in the boat is 6 days. I wouldn't hesitate to to recomend the primus, its stainless, can handle rough stuff, draws bigger all current, has a thick lid, which helps the insulation, waco lid is a bout a third as thick. And they are reasonably priced.
MOUSE

Post by MOUSE »

X 2 with the Evakool
Have the 95L & these things are proper tough
Boars, Barra, Bundy & Bare Arsed
Adventure Before Dementia

Ive got an evakool over 20 years old. Travelled all over oz with it.
It died a couple of years ago. Something small i think, hope
takinapunt

Post by takinapunt »

The Fibreglass Evakool range are great fridges & have really good insulation. I have 1 & a Trailblazer which is great also but a bit heavy. My mate used the 47 litre Evakools when he guided in Arnhemland for many years & they were great.

Best fridge for the boat is one that's full of coldies

Have an evakool, works well, fibreglass one!

bhawkless89

Post by bhawkless89 »

I have an evakool. It moves from ute tray to boat and has coped a beating and still going very strong and cold.
Skipper of SCOREd
Suzuki DF115
4.5m Aqua Rat Punt
"Punts with Grunt"

Thanks for the replies guys.
Will go and have a look at the evakool range today

If you follow the links to the evakool website, they do factory seconds on both the poly and white fibreglass models the 55lt is $200 cheaper than bcf and the 95 $400 less, still have the full warranty on everything apart from whatever scratches etc they might have
giant

Post by giant »

yep love my evakool too , mine stays in the weather in the back of the boat and never missed a beat. normally got two people seating on it as well! fibreglass and fantastic thickness and top seal.
love being on the water !!