Re: FFF in Tasmania 4

10 reasons to move to Tassie from NT
1. arhhh
2 ummm

no its not a bad place. ive lived in most states and territories in Oz and everywhere has good and bad bits.
tassie is a beautiful place with some magic scenery.

too cold for this black duck
anyone wanna buy a cheap place in countryside Tassie??

matt
i had the same idea re the sheep.
they turned out to be walking maggot taxis. you are constantly doing stuff for them.
the best thing i ever did was to sell them off and lease the land so someone else could run their own.
Now i just let the grass grow and sell the hay.

Stayed with me brother in Wynyard for ten days...Burnt half his year's supply of firewood in that time..1" of ice all over me car in th mornings. Only place I've been where you can catch fish already frozen.

jarrah jack

Post by jarrah jack »

bushie wrote:10 Reasons not to move to Tassie from the NT

1. Too bl..dy cold
2. Need a boat licence
3. Need a freshwater fishing permit
4. Need boat rego
5. NT gun licence not recognised - need to reapply
6. National parks permits - $123
7. Woolies prices are same as NT
8. Petrol is about the same price
9. Too many greenies
10. No barra, no pigs, no fun.
Good to see it hasn't changed you though bushie.. :D

olfart wrote:Stayed with me brother in Wynyard for ten days...Burnt half his year's supply of firewood in that time..1" of ice all over me car in th mornings. Only place I've been where you can catch fish already frozen.
I grew up in the highlands of NSW and a freeze over was common place in winter.
i remember when i got my first car. i washed it that same night and when i went to get in to drive to work the next morning, the locks were frozen and i still had to walk anyway :banghead:

Aye nomad, sheep sound like too much trouble, although we were looking at dorpers, they lose their coat, no shearing or crotching.

Many people here have said "just rent out the paddocks". Unfortunately I like to try things, it's probably going to cost me ... the GM marshmallow tree is going well, if I could just keep the kids off it.

Bushie, you left off the main point, it's "all silted up".

As for the winter, I kid you not, apart from the short days, I like the weather. The place is bright green and you can work outside and not break a sweat.

When the sun comes out you really appreciate it, we run outside and start jumping around in krishna outfits, the amish clobber is just for foggy days :lol:

Re the cars, the batteries don't like the cold, I only get one shot at starting the ute on a frosty morning.
bushie

Post by bushie »

11. All silted up
12. Rains in July, august, September, Oct.....

Bushie, you must be going to the wrong supermarket, it is heaps cheaper where we are.
bushie

Post by bushie »

I am comparing Woolies prices. Some stuff, even meat is more expensive in tas.
The local butcher is better and the vegetables/fruit from stalls are better.
That said, its still too cold.

'Crutching' Matt,, 'crotching' sounds like some sort of gay grab fest. :naughty:
But then again...You ARE in TASSIE. :rofl:

Matt, are you saying that sheep have another purpose other than wool and meat? :naughty:
you still have to do something almost weekly to a flock, be it 20 or 20000

yeah, Some of the spots in Tassie have ½ decent weather in winter, especially on the east coast.
I've got a place up the Derwent valley and although we only get 15” of rain average a year, it always seemed to be overcast.
Just 100 km to the west coast, they get 3m a year.
This was due to the weather hitting the west coast and dumping most of the water before it got to my place.
If we had 4” of rain, the place would flood.

I used to wear waders in the boat just to keep warm.
I pulled out the waders out of storage the other day and they are like me, buggered.
Trier

Post by Trier »

Spot-on Nomad (pun intended). Come from a farm myself, and couldn't understand why people on a 5-10 acres (or so) wanted to have half a dozen cows or sheep. Still need to make sure the water trough is full, yards to handle them & loading ramp, make sure they have enough feed, make sure fencing is ok, and a heap of other things I've forgotten. As you said doesn't matter if you have a couple or a couple thousand still have to look after them, even if you want to go away on a holiday.

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Aye, the economics on small farms is not good. But all the infrastructure is here, so I'll do it. Going to try a few things. Need an excuse to drive a tractor.

when the sheep are ready to hang up send an airline ticket Flynnie its my specialty :D knives havnt been used for a while.
bushie

Post by bushie »

Some nice looking beaches down this way.
A couple of pics of Mussellroe Bay. Apparently it can get pretty rough. Guess that's why a Wind Farm is getting built here

Plenty of lakes and rivers but the bl..dy barra don't seem to be biting. Maybe when it warms up......