FFF in Tasmania 4

Re: FFF in Tasmania 4

That's a crackin' trout Shauno. Night fishing and livebait seems to be the recurrent theme for the biggest ones, a bit like catching mulloway, but wearing a balaclava :-)

Apparently if you spotlight the small tributary streams during the breeding season there are massive trout to be seen, and in days of old they would spear them, hopefully they don't do that any more.

shauno

Post by shauno »

Have heard all the stories of the poaching that used to on in days past. He got them on dead baits (sandies) but has been catching smaller fish(upto 8lb) on soft plastics. The fishing can be superb down there with monster crays and SBT just offshore.
bushie

Post by bushie »

Time for a Tassie update Matt, what's the latest news from FFFT?

G'day Bushie, apologies, I missed this.

Closed season in the river at the moment, I've been stuck in the office but the view outside is good when the fog lifts :mrgreen:

Obviously attracted to Tassie by the magnificant winter weather

Surprising how quickly you get used to it, it's when the icy wind blows that you tend to stay inside, when the sun is out it's like anywhere else.

Just need a coldwater barra down here, or a gene-modified trout that routinely grows to 10kg+ ...

Or just harden up and go blue water fishing some of the best fishing not a stones throw of the bank
Ya can ride ya push bike from one side to the other side of the island before lunch if ya get an early start :)

I enjoy the weather DOUG, I lived in the UK for almost three years, and went fishing in colder weather than here, hands so cold I couldn't do up my pants after taking a leak :lol:

Back then no one had explained that catching carp and tench isn't supposed to be fun, and I had a ball. The skin cracked on my knuckles and finger joints in the winter.

Tassie weather is warm by comparison. We had 39C last summer, only seems to go to -2C in the valley here, at night.

A mate in Canada gets -25C to +35C.

But, that said, I wouldn't bother fishing in the Antarctic southerlies now.

The thing keeping me from fishing is never-ending office work. There's a lot to be said for 9-5 where you can walk away and forget your job after 5pm.

Nowadays I seem to be paying people to do all the fun stuff.

Plus I have a farm to set up.

I'll be having a shot at the sea trout this year in August/Sept. Some posts then.

Hopefully I will have a new boat in summer, and maybe there will be some tuna/albacore posts in Feb/March.

nomad wrote:
jarrah jack wrote:I get my local butcher to smoke my trout. I don't know how he does it but it always takes a few days and tastes sensational. Been getting out into the deep blue Matt? Big BFT's should be around soon.
You need really big papers to roll em in
bl..dy hard to light as well.

jarrah jack

Post by jarrah jack »

What sort of boat you thinking of getting Matt? There are some nice older HH's for sale down your way atm. A 600r with twin zuks would have you doing laps of that little island of yours in no time.

Not sure JJ, but it's going to be something I can use here and up in the NT. The big HHs would be good for the bluewater here, and there are some really good s/h bluewater rigs selling cheap here at the moment, refurbed Berts and the like, probably because the Tassie regional economy is not good. There are a lot of big plate boats here that look like custom jobs.
bushie

Post by bushie »

Matt, when you've finished your farm you can come and help me fence mine...

Looks bl..dy magic bushie, I'm hearing you with the Victa lamb chops, we use animals to control the grass around the house here because of the summer fire danger, if I'd known what a good job they do I would have bought a new outboard instead of a ride-on mower.

Nice country there lads,Ive been looking at heading up to Ebore which is not far in from Coff harbour & a couple of hours from here & chase some trout when the season opens in Oct. I think it is ,its the Styx river & can stay in old loggers cabins with a creek at the door,should be great.
jarrah jack

Post by jarrah jack »

I just spent yesterday fishing for trout on lake Bolac in western Vic. Got 8 rainbows but no woppers. Was the coldest day ever in my life I reckon. Nine hours in a boat in the cold wind fk it was cold and I'm from the area.