FFF in Tasmania 2

Re: FFF in Tasmania 2

Tasmainia is just one of the nicest places I have every been to. ( However I have only been in summer)

bushie

Post by bushie »

Sooooooo..... what are you doing in tassie? What part are you hiding in?

AM wrote:Tasmainia is just one of the nicest places I have every been to. ( However I have only been in summer)
Summer lasts for 2 days :lol:

Hiding in the deep south Bushie, on a farm near a river. Change of scenery for us while the kids are young. Cheaper ($300k less mortgage) to live in Taz and fly or drive back and forward for business trips.

On our remote rural road, the neighbours are from Karratha, the house in front was a Darwin family but they left for NSW, another neighbour helped set up Crab Claw Island, and a fella living down the road was a guitarist I played in a Darwin band for 10 years, didn't even know he was here. Small world.

And summer is not so bad, we had a 39C day in the valley recently (neighbour's thermometer). Next day was 15C and raining!

But no barra and no run-off of course, we miss the wet season, and the sunset meals at East Point and Vesteys, and Mindil market, the bike tracks, coffee at the Cool Spot ... ah yes, Darwin is a special place. Can't have everything! Will be coming back regularly for work for the mags and FFF.

Taz might seem an extreme change but I have lived in SA, NT and Qld, and travelled most of Australia, there were no other wild places we liked that were affordable except perhaps Cooktown/Daintree. Tassie still has great wilderness, although they have farmed, pulped or veneered an awful lot of it. Progress eh, just like they want to make Darwin a heavy industry hub. The world is nuts.

Yeah, plenty of ex pat Territorians down that way when you start asking around. We'll be doing the same in about 4 years when the young fella starts school. My folks ( ex pats) had a place in Ulverstone, unfortunately they've both passed on now but I kept the house and have it rented out till we're ready to move. We spent quite a bit of time in Tassie over the duration and really enjoyed our trips. Nice people, great produce and amazing scenery. It's got a pretty laid back pace about it too. The distant twang of the banjos adds a certain ambiemce......................

Did a lot of research on the fishing options before committing and was pleasantly suprised by whats's on offer within an hour or twos drive from home. Pretty keen on getting a decent cellar together as well and quaffing a few reds round the fire :drinking2:

bushie

Post by bushie »

Matt, I don't know how you are going to take this but ...... I bought a house on acreage down in tassie at Christmas. Thought that was you next door...
No, seriously, we do have a property down there. Near Bonney Beach ramp. Have a lot of family down there too. If we end up moving it will be for the same reasons, cheap mortgage, young kids etc. Mrs is keen to go but I don't know if I'm ready yet.
Who knows, get your goggles and rain coat and we might be able to chase some SBT n the bright yellow GS!

And just to make it clear, I am not a Tasmanian!
jarrah jack

Post by jarrah jack »

A good mate recently moved with his family from Tassie to Gove. There must be something going on between NT and Tassie. For me going to Tassie is like going back to the 70's which I'm not sure is a good or a bad thing. LOL The food there tastes so much better for some reason and the seafood can be incredible. Crays from your own pots and huge oysters from the shallows.

Didn't think you liked southerners Bushie and here you are threatening to become one. :rofl:

Jarrah jack, I have noticed the oysters - huge buggers everywhere, even all over some of the boat ramps.

I asked a local why no one seems to eat them and he said people are scared they will eat a bad one. I thought it might have been a water quality issue, but I looked across one bay and there were commercial oyster racks. And the water seems fine, no heavy industry or sewers etc where we are.

Probably best to keep up rumours about bad oysters, "all silted up".

Best thing about Tassie is that at some times of the year you can leave a fish in the boat all week, it will still be fresh when you find it. In September my wife saw an ice-cream on the footpath, she went past two days later and it was still there.
bushie

Post by bushie »

jarrah jack wrote:A good mate recently moved with his family from Tassie to Gove. There must be something going on between NT and Tassie. For me going to Tassie is like going back to the 70's which I'm not sure is a good or a bad thing. LOL The food there tastes so much better for some reason and the seafood can be incredible. Crays from your own pots and huge oysters from the shallows.

Didn't think you liked southerners Bushie and here you are threatening to become one. :rofl:

Jack, yep, hate southerners with a vengence. But, just imagine how much whinging I can do about bl..dy 'mainlanders' !
:twisted:

Christ Flynnie your even starting to lie like a Tasmanian :D ,Im sure you will love it down there its a beautifull Island ,have you tackled their big bream yet

Gday Max, caught a couple of bream, no stonkers yet.

Daughter got her first trout today, lucky I didn't tell her the water was too high to catch fish :lol:
Camfish

Post by Camfish »

what area you in? i know a few guide's down there, i can pass some hot spot's on for ya.

G'day Camfish - I am in the far south. I have been shown some good spots, but have not fished them yet, 95% of fishing so far has been arvo walks to a spot nearby.

Dropped a stonker two days ago, a lazy last minute leap saw it flick the lure right up in the air. Still smarting! Dunno if it was a salmon or trout.

Every tackle box should have a couple of sedatives in there, if you aren't carrying an esky ...
Camfish

Post by Camfish »

Matt Flynn wrote:G'day Camfish - I am in the far south. I have been shown some good spots, but have not fished them yet, 95% of fishing so far has been arvo walks to a spot nearby.

Dropped a stonker two days ago, a lazy last minute leap saw it flick the lure right up in the air. Still smarting! Dunno if it was a salmon or trout.

Every tackle box should have a couple of sedatives in there, if you aren't carrying an esky ...

far south! i wouldent know much about there! but if you're ever up near bridgewater hit me up for a nice spot, sea runners and STONKER black bream, seasonal for the fishing tho.

Nice to see the little one getting into them Matt. Love the mepps. Black with red spots. Nothing in the world looks like them so trout eat them for the same reason barra eat Mr Twisters. No reason at all....they just do!