Note to all users

Make suggestions to improve this site

I think we should have to register with our real names and Matt should hold that info.... as for no post get deleted :???: maybe after 3 months..... we have over 600 people signed up and how many even post a hello :???:

Seems the same old people posting all the time (yep I am one of them).... as for big brother???? Police MFEU, fisheries, the ministers office and a few others look at the site often "so I am told"....who cares :smoking: :smoking: look all you want...might be better if they got off their :moon: :moon: and did something about some of our issues though.

Just my thoughts on it all.. :mrgreen:

Pat Tait

Real names

Post by Pat Tait »

I go along with what you are saying about real names. I use my name and I don't have anything to hide nor am I shy in any way. I don't get time (as much as I would like) to sit down and have a chat through this forum to other like minded people, ie fishermen. I do however talk face to face with other fishermen and a few of them are put off contributing to the forum by what they see as a 'club mentality' in cyberspace with most members known by their 'club names'. Don't get me wrong, I could'nt give a toss at what names someone wishes to be known by but I have had it said to me that some do and this has steered those people away from joining in. Anyway, to change the subject to something better, I'm thinking of doing a trip out to Three amigos- Shepperton Shoal area on the weekend. Has anyone fished this area? WHAT can I expect? Is there much structure around the Three Amigos? Any info or if anyone wants to tag along email or even call. I'm in the white pages. Pat
Every cast is the best lucky dip!
Hawkeye

Post by Hawkeye »

2RODS WROTE:
might be better if they got off their and did something about some of our issues though.
Tom a (hawk...eye)

Fishin again...... lookin for a meterey......
Hawkeye

Post by Hawkeye »

2RODS WROTE:
might be better if they got off their :moon: :moon: and did something about some of our issues though.
Maybe you dont buy enough iced coffee to keep their GST coffers full enough 2Rods :angel:

If only AFANT would get off their :moon: :moon: and start doing some real stuff like some of the FFF members do off their own bat :banghead: :banghead:

:fishy: :fishing:
Tom a (hawk...eye)

Fishin again...... lookin for a meterey......

You need better bait than that hawk :kiss: :kiss:

Oh I must be at least some of the problem though as I don't drink iced coffee :shock: :shock:

jasonmcc

Forum

Post by jasonmcc »

I have seen the FF Forum grow considerably in the last 12 months but the number of active posters has only risen slightly. I would have to say I am a bit more secretive with my posts now days as I feel there are plenty of people on here that just suck up all the info and put nothing back in. Even if there a people who are begineers and do not catch much it would be good to hear reports from them.

I dont mind sharing info if everyone else is doing the same and helping out the new guys as long as they put something back into the forum.
Has happened already Back Cast.
What did I miss here?

As for other departments researching the forum, good on the them. Least they will get some 'live' info on the NT recreational fishing industry.

Jason
...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............

forum

I am hearing you fellas :mrgreen: From now on users have to be registered and signed in to view the main fishing reports forums.

The number of non-contributing users on FFF bugs me - the World Fishing Map website is even worse.

But keep in mind that many people here don't post because:

1. They don't really know how
2. They don't want to look stupid, or are shy
3. They are beginners and think they have nothing to offer
4. They are from down south and only come here to gawk
5. They can't because of computer restrictions at work
6. They are people spying from other fishing forums and publishing businesses - I have seen FFF ideas introduced on other forums and FFF news regularly appears in various media and publications without any courtesy notes

Fortunately with IP tracking and email addresses I have a good idea of who's who. But there's only so much I can do to get rid of non-performers.

I am now looking for a forum mod that deletes all zero posters if they don't post for a period - possibly one month. I believe such a mod exists.

Regarding Big Brother - he is indeed watching in various guises - I know that as 100% fact - so don't post anything illegal.

To the FFF Heavies who do make a big effort, your efforts keep the forum alive. I will organise the long awaited FFF BBQ with some appropriate FFF awards.

Speaking of FFF Heavies, where's BEAR been?

Sounds good Matt..

BEAR has been on sick leave......so he would most likely be out fishing somewhere :angel: :angel: :angel:

Well I better reply I'd hate to be cut from the field already. 8-) 8-)

I recently joined with the intention of sharing info and getting some back. I don't want to blow my own trumpet :bow: but I've managed to score fish from most rivers and reefs in the NT and across the Top End coast over the years. This was using both lures and live bait for those on both sides of the fence.

Here is my point It is no getting old unless you get wise (or wiser) I have done many a trip to rivers and had to flog the water to foam for misely returns before learning the signs and becoming consistant. What I like about the forum is you can read between the lines of postings add that to your local knowledge and you should come up with successfull results. The results aren't just about catching an esky full of fish these days it includes hugh fuel savings for the cruiser and the boat heading to the mouths of some of our famious rivers, catching fish from a new spot, being able to take a novice to a spot and being able to tell them what they will catch and when. :mrgreen:

To those who don't want to post because they feel shamed about what they have to contribute don't because if you don't put it out there you won't get nothing back from it. I love getting a novice a fish and the same applies to helping not so successful fishos out. :cheers:

You can read all the big stories from some the legends of how they caught megga amounts here and there but they all started out not knowing jack s........ like us all. :twisted:

JUST FOR THE RECORD and a BRAG
My best day was 237 Bara all keepers (only kept a few) from the banks of Shady Camp crossing with Mum Dad little sister and my girlfriend all on handlines and 6" Nilsmasters in 1978. During the course of the day we also caught heaps of these other things up to about a meter long I now know them as Saratoga's :fishing: :fishing:

I guess what I'm trying to say is what works for someone else may not always work for you. :idea: :idea: So keep ideas coming in along with trying different things and you will improve your chances. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :clap: :clap: :clap:

jasonmcc

FAQ

Post by jasonmcc »

Maybe a easy to read 'sticky' explaining how to log and and post. I know there is the FAQ section but it could be easily missed and there is a lot of info in it.

Hey Matt, I have wondered why you run the forum? I guess its probably used in writing your FF Books, Maps, Dvd's. Other than that there would only be the 'Google' and 'Friends of FF' advertisments? Whatever your motivation is, im glad your doing it.

JAson
...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............

Jason

Good question Jasonmcc - from a profit point of view the forum still costs more than it makes, although the cost is not high.

But the forum is a good online presence for the FISH FINDER book business and it does help me gather information and photos for my newspaper fishing reports. It's also good for getting a message out to many fishos quickly.

I also enjoy using the forum and am chuffed that other people do.

Some time in future the forum might make a profit - like many business things you have to start small and make it grow.
temp

Post by temp »

Keep up the great work Matt, the forum is going great guns :clap: :clap: I also couldn't believe how far it had progressed after being away for 7 months. Unfortunately there'll always be an element that will just "leech" and never contribute as they are too lazy to go and work out how to catch fish themselves.

I'll also add that I don't post as much as I probably could, cos I don't get to go fishing very often. Also not having very much knowledge of the fishing up here find it next to impossible to offer advice when I know prefectly well that guys like BC will answer the question far better than I.

Thanks to all the guys who do contribute its an awesome resource and I know I've learnt heaps. I hope I get the chance to meet a few more members before years end when I'll be moving south (lots of trout reports coming your way 8-) 8-) :cheers: ). Any ideas on a get together in the near future at YW or somewhere similar (aside from the BBQ Matt has in the pipeline).

Craig

I havnt been catching many fish of late but still dont mind saying where Ive been and using what, as others heading to the same places might want to try something different and getting road reports first hand is great it can mean the difference as to where you go fishing as far as the forum having a bit of a club feel I dont agree with that as I steer clear of clubs but have no intention of not having a chat on here,and you mob who go fishing and dont catch fish wack that on here too everyone has fishless trips who knows someone may be able to help out and theres plenty of members willing to do just that.
temp

Post by temp »

Max,
I reckon if I posted all the "fishless trips' I've had I'd be rivalling BC in his post count by now :bonk: :bonk:
Craig